aging · fitness · healthy lifestyle · menopause · Uncategorized · weight gain · workouts

Reality check

I finished my current workout program yesterday, LIIFT4! I’ve done this program many times in the past; I’ve lost count. I just love it so much and it’s one of those programs that I never get bored with. I’ve done posts on it before, but essentially it’s an 8-week program, 4 days a week, that consists of strength training and HIIT (high intensity interval training.) On my rest days, I would do a cycle class on my stationary bike or do yoga to stretch and recover.

I had taken before photos before I started the program and today I took my after photos and I was a bit shocked at the results. I knew that the number on the scale hasn’t been great lately, but often times the scale doesn’t reflect your progress. However, if I was completely honest with myself, I knew that things really weren’t going well. My clothes have been fitting tighter. Still….I was a bit in denial when I took my after photos. I don’t know what I was expecting, but it wasn’t good.

And then after showering and pulling on a pair of jeans and struggling to button them, reality finally set in. Yes, I’ve stayed consistent with my workouts, but I completely, 100%, undid all of my hard work with the food (and alcohol) I was putting in my mouth.

I’ve been down this road many, many times before. It’s so frustrating that I can’t seem to keep up the habits which bring me the most optimal health and fitness.

This week, I looked back on my posts from earlier this year and I’d somehow managed to forget how good I was feeling because I was not only working out regularly, but I was also going for walks every day, I was staying on track with healthy eating and I was feeling the most healthy and fit that I’d felt, like ever.

Then I got injured, ended up needing surgery, and all of the momentum I had gained just slid quickly downhill and it’s been going downhill ever since.

No pity parties. I did this to myself. Time to put on my big girl pants, my hard hat, and get to work.

I have a list of daily habits that I’m going to work on doing every day. Nothing extreme like 75 Hard. Just a checklist of things like the following:

  1. Do a morning Beachbody workout. On Monday I’m starting a new 13-week program called 645.
  2. Eat a healthy breakfast.
  3. Eat a healthy lunch.
  4. Go for a walk, preferably outside, during my lunch break. I’ll aim for 30 minutes.
  5. Eat healthy snacks.
  6. Eat a healthy dinner.
  7. Read a chapter from a personal development book.
  8. Stick to 1-2 alcoholic beverages a week, as long as they fit in my meal plan.
  9. Drink plenty of water. 64-80 oz keeps me adequately hydrated.

Making sure that I do all of these things, as often as I can, will help me achieve the following goals:

  1. Improve the quality of my sleep.
  2. Help me fit more comfortably in my clothes.
  3. Improve my overall general health, both physically and mentally.

Each morning, I’ve been writing my goals and daily tasks in a journal and at the end of each day, I check off the habits that I completed.

I’m also going back to a portion fix plan of eating and have printed off a meal plan and will do my shopping today for the meals I’ll eat next week.

I know I can do this; I’ve done it with success before. I honestly can’t tell you why I fell off track. It’s human nature, I guess, for us to fall off track. The key is just to get back to it. We all stumble sometimes; we just have to get back up and keep moving.

I think this plan is a great transition into the new year, when we all feel like we’re starting fresh with new goals. I’ll have a head start!

May your glass always be full,

Tammy

One thought on “Reality check

Leave a comment