running · Uncategorized

Happy Mother’s Day!

Cool-Happy-Mothers-Day-Photos

Happy Mother’s Day to all of you moms out there!  It’s our day to celebrate, to relax, to be pampered, to be waited on…..right?  At least I hope so!  When the girls were little and my husband would ask me every year what I wanted for Mother’s Day, my response was always the same:

“I’d like the day off.”  Seriously.  No cleaning, no cooking, no anything.  I just wanted to be waited on, to spend the day lounging around and reading a good book.  As a busy mom, I never had time to do that for myself.

Now that the girls are older and have their own busy lives, the best Mother’s Day present for me is just to have them at home so that we can spend time together as a family.  And that’s what I’ve received this weekend.  Yesterday was a beautiful day.  After doing some household chores, my husband and youngest daughter and I went to our local school’s FFA plant sale and got some flowers, tomatoes, jalapenos, basil, and cilantro to plant.  Then I went on a run.  It was supposed to be a 4-mile run, but I miscalculated the route I took and ended up doing 5 miles!  It was such a beautiful day, though, so I didn’t mind.

I ordered some new shoes:  New Balance Fresh Foam Boracays!  I love them!  They fit well and are really comfortable and so they’ve officially joined my Brooks Ghosts and Brooks Ravennas in my running shoe lineup!

I spent the rest of the day with my family, hanging out in the backyard and relaxing.  We woke up this morning to rain, so I’m not sure what we’ll do today.  It will depend on the weather, but I’m just enjoying my coffee and waiting for the rest of the family to get up so that we can enjoy the day together.

I know I’ve probably said this before, but I’m blessed with the best family in the world.  I have a wonderful husband and the two best daughters anyone could ask for!  Everyone in our family is healthy, happy, and loved and as a mother, I couldn’t ask for a better gift for Mother’s Day!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a comment