Uncategorized

10 Things Better than Unhealthy Weekends

I recently read an article that really struck a chord with me:

10 Things Better than a Bad Habit

For the most part, I live a really healthy lifestyle:  I eat lots of servings of fruits and veggies, I exercise regularly, I drink plenty of water, I stay away from alcohol and fried, fatty foods.

And then the weekend comes.  The healthy habits that I’ve kept up during the week seem to fly out the window.  What the hell?  It’s like I’ve given myself permission to eat and drink whatever I want during the weekend to “reward” myself for being so disciplined during the week.

No more.  I don’t know why I allow it, but I’m tired of sabotaging all of the hard work I’ve put in during the week.  It’s no wonder I’ve hit a plateau and can’t seem to lose any more weight or tone up like I want to.  I’m tired of having crappy long runs on Sundays because I’ve indulged too much on Friday and Saturday nights.

Therefore, I’m putting together my own list of 10 things that are better than drinking too much alcohol and eating too much junk on the weekends:

1.  I’ll lose weight.  Yes, I’m a size 8, but I still have about 10 pounds to go before I’d feel like I was at a healthy weight.

2.  Related to #1, I think I could rock a two-piece swimsuit when we go to Florida at the end of June if I could lose a few more pounds and tone up some more.

3.  Although I’ve built up muscle since running and strength training, I feel like I’m no longer making any progress and I think that my diet 3 days out of the week is the reason for this.  What would happen if I ate healthy EVERY DAY for a while?  I think I’d notice a change.  I’m going to find out.

4.  I’d no longer feel like crap on the weekends because of all of the beer or wine I drank and the junk I ate.  No more stomachaches.  No more feeling dehydrated.  I could feel great on the weekends like I do during the week.

5.  We’d save money.  Right now, my husband and I eat out every weekend, sometimes more than that.  Spending money eating out adds up.

6.  I want to run a half-marathon more than anything in the world.  The long runs I have on the weekends are vital to my training, so I have to eat the right foods in order to run at my best.  There is a half-marathon on Labor Day weekend that I have set my sights on.  I want to do it.  And not only do I want to do it, but I want to do it at the best level I can.

7.  I really do enjoy eating healthier foods more than I do unhealthy ones.  So why do I do it?  Why do I eat the bag of chips, or order the french fries instead of a side salad?  I have to start looking at foods differently.  How is this going to fuel and nourish my body?  If I’m honest with myself, the healthy choices will win out every time.

8.  I enjoy eating at home more than I do at a restaurant.  I’d rather make my own healthy vegan food than go to a restaurant and try to piece together a vegan meal at a non-vegan restaurant, most of it being unhealthy, and really not tasting all that great.  Or worse yet, opting to eat something with cheese or other dairy because I’m starving and I don’t want just a plain baked potato or a plain salad; then afterwards, feeling horribly guilty and beating myself up for not sticking with my personal beliefs.

9.  The calories in that second (or 3rd…..or 4th……) beer or glass of wine is not worth it.  Repeat after me:  it’s not worth it.  Go back to reasons #1 and #2 for motivation.  🙂

10.  Mondays will no longer be my “start over” days because every day will be a healthy day.

 

One thought on “10 Things Better than Unhealthy Weekends

Leave a Reply

