Uncategorized

Weekend recap

After having a bit of a rough week, I was really looking forward to the weekend. It started on Friday night with a Game of Thrones Season 1 marathon. My husband and I LOVE this show! Now I know that I absolutely MUST put the books on my to-read list!

GameOfThrones_S1_DVD

Saturdays are always the same for me: grocery shopping, laundry, and housework. Not fun, but necessities all the same. However, strawberries were on sale and so I loaded up on those because I love strawberries. I was a happy camper!

Strawberries

For dinner on Saturday, I made my own version of veggie burgers. Like the rookie blogger that I am, I forgot to take a photo, but here is the recipe:

Chickpea Veggie Burgers:
1 cup carrots, chopped
1 zucchini, chopped
1 cup mushrooms, chopped
1 can chickpeas, drained, rinsed, & mashed
1/4 cup of ground flaxseed
2 tsp Sriracha sauce
Salt & pepper to taste

Saute the vegetables in a bit of water until softened. Add vegetables to rest of ingredients, mix well, and make into patties (I made about 5 nice-sized patties). Chill in fridge for at least an hour. Bake on a cooking sheet at 400 degrees for about 30-40 minutes, flipping over about halfway through cooking time.

These burgers turned out pretty well. The Sriracha sauce gave them a nice little kick. The texture of the burgers was nice, too, although they fell apart pretty easily.

Speaking of Sriracha sauce: I’m now officially hooked on the stuff! I discovered that if I mix about a teaspoon of Sriracha with a tablespoon of vegan sour cream, it makes a nice salad dressing or sauce for potatoes. I could seriously eat the stuff by the spoonful!

Our youngest daughter returned late Saturday night from an overnight Fine Arts senior trip in Chicago. She brought me early Mother’s Day presents (a scarf and some bracelets), which was really nice. She said when she was in the store, a sales person was trying to help her pick out a scarf for me and she asked Kayla what I’m like, and Kayla said, “She’s a hippie vegan mom.” That cracked me up! I also think it describes me pretty accurately! 🙂

Kayla told me that they ate at McDonald’s quite a bit on their trip, and she said that she missed my cooking.  She was pretty excited to have our Sunday morning ritual of pancakes.  I finally found a vegan pancake recipe that’s a keeper!  Both of my daughters gave the pancakes a seal of approval:

Vegan Pancakes Recipe

And then I baked these for a work party that we’re having on Tuesday, and I doubled the batch so that my family could have some.  O…..M……G…… These are the best vegan cupcakes I’ve ever had.

Vegan Chocolate Avocado Cupcakes

The rest of the day is a blur; I was busy doing lots of things around the house, but managed to squeeze in a 4-mile run at some point.  By the time I finished with everything, including making dinner and clean-up, it was about 8:30 at night and I was TIRED.

And now it’s Monday.  Again.  Time flies, doesn’t it?

 

2 thoughts on “Weekend recap

  1. I immediately had to look up that cupcake recipe, and OMG do they look amazing! Unfortunately, that’s something that I would definitely binge on, so I can’t do it. At least not until I get rid of these pesky 5 pounds that keep finding me as soon as I get rid of them 😦

    Like

  2. Laura, woman, I definitely relate 100%! I’m trying to fit into skinny jeans and my mom’s old clothes. I eat when tired, so I would snarf those cupcakes down in one tired sitting. I would rather spend extra money for someone else to prep “fun” food than make it and eat it myself. I have learned that the hard way too dang many times!

    And Tammy, I really, really, need to kick in with the GoT DVDs. I get your tired comment–after exercise it’s a wonder I can make it to 8:30 some nights–I’m up at 5:00 for work. But no complaints about exercise–I’m sleeping better as a result.

    Like

Leave a Reply

