Uncategorized

What Running Has Taught Me

Bruce Lee

I’ve received lots of great advice since I started running a few years ago.  Something that a runner friend of mine told me will always stick with me, though.  She told me that no matter how long someone has been running, the first mile is always the hardest.  It’s so true.  Every run I start out and a couple of minutes into the run I think to myself, “Oh my God.  This sucks.  This is so hard.  I’m only going to be able to go 3 miles today.”  Then I get to 3 miles and I tell myself, “You’ve done 3 miles already.  You can do one more.  Then you can stop.”  If it’s a long run day and I need to get more miles in, I keep telling myself, “One more mile.  You’ve gone this far – what’s one more?” and then I reach the end of my running goal for the day.

When I first starting running, I could barely run for a minute without feeling like I was going to keel over and die.  Running a 5K seemed totally unattainable to me.  But I kept going and the time came when I was able to run a 5K without stopping.  Then I ran 4 miles.  And 5 miles.  And I can now say that I’ve run 7 miles and am planning to run in a 7-mile race in July and a half-marathon in late August.  These longer distance races don’t sound impossible now.  In fact, a marathon doesn’t seem impossible to me, either.  I know it will take a lot of hard work, and I’ll be tired and in pain, but I’m not afraid and I don’t intend to give up.  I will cross the finish line of a marathon one day soon.

Running has taught me not to quit.  Running has made me brave.  Running has taught me to keep going, even when I’m tired or not feeling well, or if I hurt, or I’d just simply rather be sitting on the couch watching a Netflix marathon or drinking a bottle of wine.  This motivation to keep going has carried over to other aspects of my life, such as my job and personal life.  When I feel like quitting, I don’t.  When things get hard, I put on my running shoes (metaphorically speaking) and start running.  I keep moving until I reach my goal.

Running has taught me that there are no limits to what I’m capable of doing.

Have you hit a plateau in your life?  Whether it be your weight, exercise, your job, relationships, just KEEP GOING.  You can do it.  Just put on those running shoes and RUN.  There are no limits to what you’re capable of doing!

 

 

3 thoughts on “What Running Has Taught Me

  1. The most important step to me is the one where I GET OUT THE FRONT DOOR. Once I take the literal first step out the door, the rest comes naturally (once again, literally). I wasn’t planning on walking yesterday, but it was 77 degrees out yesterday and sunny. So, I just couldn’t not take advantage of the weather, having blamed it for NOT being able to walk with the horrible winter weather we’d had (and had, and had). So, I wound up logging over 11,300 steps on my pedometer. When I left work I only had 4,300 steps. Your body will tell you how much to exercise while you’re doing it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

