Uncategorized · vegan

Gym update

Hello!  How has your week been so far?  Another 3-day weekend is coming up, which I’m very excited about.  Kayla had her surgery on Monday and things went well.  She was able to go home that night and has been staying with us during her recovery.  She has some pain and needs assistance getting around, and the pain medication makes her tired and nauseous, but each day she is getting stronger and today we are going to try cutting back on the narcotics and use OTC ibuprofen.  We are awaiting the pathology results for the mass that was removed and most likely won’t hear anything until next week.

I haven’t been to the gym this week, as I want to just savor the time that Kayla is here with us and give her 100% of my attention.  However, I just wanted to take a moment to share my progress.

Although the scale hasn’t moved at all for me, I’ve noticed that my pants have gotten a bit more loose, so I took my measurements this morning and I’ve lost 1-1/2 inches around my stomach, as well as 1-1/2 inches around my hips and butt.  I’m also noticing more toning around my arms, abs, buns and legs – awesome!

Each week I add more weights to my workouts and on Sunday I pushed 170 pounds on the prowler!  That’s more than my body weight!  I was pretty proud of myself!

I was having problems with my left knee osteoarthritis again, and so I got another injection and my knee is feeling normal again.  I’m doing a 72-mile team relay race in May and will need to start some sort of training plan soon, but it’s exciting to have another running goal to work on.

Thank you for your positive thoughts and prayers for Kayla and our family!  This blog has been a great form of therapy for me, but most importantly it has connected me with all of you who have been such a great support system.

 

8 thoughts on “Gym update

    1. We don’t have a full team yet; so far it’s me, David, Kayla and Riley. So depending on how many people end up being on our team will determine how many legs each person runs. I think the distance of each leg varies, too. It will be an adventure for sure! I still think you and Kevin should join us! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

