Uncategorized

I ran today.

I went for a run today.  After yesterday’s post, I got a lot of encouragement from people, but the one that stuck out the most was a friend who said, “If it was me, you’d tell me to run.”  That’s true.  Thanks for the kick in the ass.  Plus, Kayla said, “Mom, you need to run!”  So off I went today.  I felt guilty; I worried about Kayla while I was running.  But I ran 3 miles and it felt great and I have no regrets.

Kayla said something yesterday that really resonated with me:

“The doctor didn’t say I was dying, so why are we acting like I’m dying?”  That kid.  She is so wise, so positive.

So I’ve chosen to look at things in a different light, at least for the time being.  Until we know what stage she is in and what the prognosis and treatment will be, we’re going to just try and savor every moment before her surgery.  We have a long road ahead of us, but until we get to that road, we’re going to have fun.

The outpouring of love and support from our friends, family, co-workers, and community has been overwhelming.  So many visitors stopping by to see how we’re all doing.  Words can’t even describe how much it means to us.  And the food – my, oh my.  We’re really enjoying the food!

People keep asking what they can do to help.  Just stay in touch.  Stop by and say hi.  Call, text or PM just to say hi and let us know you’re thinking of us. You’re not being a pest and it’s helpful to know people care.  Keep praying and sending positive, healing vibes Kayla’s way, and strength for all of us who are on this journey with her.  Send hugs, even if they’re virtual.  It helps.

Wine helps, too.  🙂 Cheers!

4 thoughts on “I ran today.

Leave a comment