Uncategorized

I knew I was a runner when….

When did I know that I was a runner?

Was it when I first decided to try to run instead of walk during one of my daily walking routines?

Was it when I spent $100 on my first pair of running shoes?

Was it when I was able to run my first mile without stopping?

Was it when I decided to train for my first 5k?

Was it when I subscribed to Runner’s World magazine and read it cover-to-cover to absorb every bit of information I could about running?

Was it after I successfully completed my first 5k?

Was it after my first stress fracture and my first question to the doctor was “When can I run again?”

Was it after my second stress fracture and decided that maybe running wasn’t for me, but after taking a few months off, decided to run again because I missed it so much?

Was it when I looked out my office window during the first snowfall last winter and thought to myself, “I want to be out there running in the snow right now”?

Was it when I decided to run outside, no matter how cold it was?

Was it when I purchased a head lamp so that I could run outside after work when the days had grown short and it was dark outside?

Was it when I decided that I was ready to train for a half-marathon?

Was it when I ran my first 7-mile race?

Was it when I completed my first half-marathon?

Was it when I decided less than 24 hours after my first half-marathon that I needed to do it again?

Was it when I ran and ran and ran without stopping and when I finally looked down at my Garmin watch, I saw that I had run 7 miles without stopping?

Was it when I started thinking that a marathon might be actually be possible?

Yes.

6 thoughts on “I knew I was a runner when….

  1. I love your list! And it was all of those things. You know when it actually dawned on me that I was a runner? I had completed my first half marathon in St. Louis. It was not then….it was a couple of days later when i couldn’t stop thinking about it. At first, I was relieved that I had done it. But after the soreness went away…I could not stop thinking about doing it again! See, we all are nuts! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this post! I think it felt “real” for me after I completed week 5 day 3 of the C25k program, but looking back now I think it was the moment I decided to try 🙂

    Oh btw, I won an entry into the vegrunchat virtual race (how cool is that?!!), so here we go again! What was the date you wanted to do it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

