Uncategorized

The Reminder Run

Sometimes I wonder why I love running so much.  Yes, it’s helped me lose weight and get in shape.  There are other ways to stay in shape, though.  After a bad day, a run helps me relax and unwind.  But a glass of wine or bubble bath does the same thing.  I’ve set running goals and accomplished them, but I could set other goals and accomplish them as well.

What is it about running that holds such a great appeal?

Let’s be honest:  running sucks most of the time.  It’s hard.  I’ve suffered through 3 stress fractures, foot pain, blisters, and fatigue since I started this running journey a few years ago.  Running, especially when you’re training for a long race, takes discipline, commitment, and sacrifice.  Why do I want to spend hours of my weekends running when I could be curling up with a good book or watching a Netflix marathon with my family?  I could just do a 30-minute aerobic or strengthening DVD and call it a day.  Why am I putting myself through this?

Last night I was reminded of why I run.

As my blog post indicated yesterday, I was stressed.  It had been a few days since I’d run, so I was anxious to put on my running gear and go outside.  The weather has cooled down significantly this week, and we’ve had quite a bit of rain, but last night was PERFECT running weather.  It was in the upper 50’s by the time I set out on my run.  The run felt GOOD.  I ran 3.1 miles and I ran the entire time.  No need for a walk break.  No need to slow down.  I got into a groove and just ran.  No pain or soreness anywhere.  No tummy issues.  I felt strong and fast and FREE.  All of the stress from the day just melted away and when I got home, I felt euphoric.

I think I was feeling a bit worn out and burned out from training, but that run last night was just what I needed to re-energize, to remind me of why I run.

3 thoughts on “The Reminder Run

  1. Love those days, when it just comes easy. Then other days you have to push yourself just to get out the door. I like running because it’s always a different experience even if you run the same well-worn paths.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You nailed it! It is hard and it’s always hard for me to take that first step out of the door but when I do, all the stresses of that day melt away with each step. That is why I love running. There is not many better feelings than after a long run than to get a shower, put on pajamas and just bask in that after run feeling. I usually prop up on the sofa with my laptop reading running blogs! We are nuts, you know….

    Like

Leave a Reply

