Uncategorized

One photo

The final day of the 10-day You Challenge is 1 photo.

For the challenge, I had planned on posting a photo of myself in the two-piece swimsuit that I bought on Sunday for our upcoming Florida vacation.  I’m so freaking proud of the fact that through running and eating a healthy plant-based diet,  I feel good enough about my body to wear a two-piece swimsuit.  The last time I wore a two-piece (in public) was in my early 20’s.  However, posting a photo on a blog that is available to the public, to my family, friends, and online community is a very scary thing.  Walking out of the dressing room while I was trying on swimsuits so that I could get my daughter’s opinion made me feel completely vulnerable.  I felt naked, even though I was wearing a swimsuit.  But then the more I kept looking in the mirror, the more I felt like, this is okay.

I know, it’s just a swimsuit, right?  What’s the big deal?  Lots of women wear two pieces: young women, old women, fat women, skinny women.  They can wear bikinis with no problem.  I never had the confidence to do that, however, until now.  Now, I’m proud of my 47-year-old body.  This body has given birth to two beautiful children.  This body will run when I tell it to run.  This body is healthy and glowing, thanks to all of the plant-based foods I feed it.  This body is HAPPY, and I’m now proud to show it.

With that being said, I will not be posting a photo of me in my swimsuit, although I’m sure I’ll be posting photos of our Florida trip, where I will be living in my swimsuit for a glorious week!

My photo will be this one:

Esther

This is Esther.  Esther is a pig that was adopted by a couple when she was very small.  Esther was supposed to be a miniature pig, but instead she ended up being a regular pig that has grown up to be quite BIG.  However, she has become part of the family and she is loved by not only her parents and other animals in the family, but she is loved by tons of people because of social media.  Esther’s parents are now raising money to start a farm sanctuary to take care of other animals in need.  I love this photo because it represents what I wish for all animals on this planet.  That they receive the same love and care as Esther.  That someday, there will be no more bacon; no more turkeys eaten on Thanksgiving Day; no more steaks, burgers, and hot dogs on the grill for July 4th cookouts.  This photo represents the life that all animals should be able to have.  Just like humans, animals want love, affection, safety, and shelter.  They don’t deserve to be caged up, bred and raised to be commodities, and slaughtered at a young age, just for our taste buds.

“The soul is the same in all living creatures, although the body of each is different.” -Hippocrates

7 thoughts on “One photo

  1. The Esther phenomenon is a great one for bringing attention to the plight of farm animals. She has quite the internet presence!

    Like you, I have not worn a two-piece since my youth, and even then, I was so self-conscious about it. Unlike you, I doubt anyone will ever see me in one again, but you are definitely giving me food for thought.

    Like

  2. Kat- you know who convinced me that wearing a two-piece was okay? My two daughters! Trust me, if I didn’t look okay, they would let me know! I’ll bet you would look great in a two-piece as well! 🙂

    I follow Esther on Facebook and she makes me smile every day!

    Like

    1. Jonathan – Trust me, you’re not missing out on much! LOL Besides, doesn’t the picture of Esther send more of an important, meaningful message? Thanks for reading my blog post! 🙂

      Like

  3. I love this post! As a fellow Esther follower and fan, I can so relate. However, I was kinda looking forward to that two-piece pic as well. 😉 It’s been a long time since I’ve been able to wear one, thank you for the motivation and inspiration.

    Like

Leave a comment