healthy lifestyle · Uncategorized

F*ck you, scale!

As you know, my husband and I started working out at a gym last November.  David has been doing great; he has lost close to 30 pounds and we had to go shopping last weekend because all of his clothes are too big.  As happy as I am for him, I found myself being a bit jealous because I didn’t feel like I was making that much progress.  The scale kept creeping up and although I could tell I was building muscle in my legs and arms, I wasn’t seeing any sort of changes in my body.  I work really hard at the gym, and I run on the days that I’m not strength-training, and so I was very frustrated that I wasn’t losing weight or seeing any difference in how I looked.

Yesterday I went shopping with my daughters and just for shits and giggles, I decided to grab a smaller size jeans and try them on.  As you can see from the photo here, they fit quite nicely:

FU_Scale.jpg

So the moral of this story is: ignore the damn scale.  It knows not what the fuck it’s talking about.

Also, our perception of ourselves is not very objective.  I look in the mirror and see the same ole body every day.  It’s hard to see the slow, gradual transformation that is taking place.

I know it’s all about how I feel, how healthy I am, but honestly, if I’m going to work my ass off at the gym, I want to get some sort of pay-off, you know?

I’d say these jeans qualify.

Have a wonderful week!

4 thoughts on “F*ck you, scale!

  1. I’m right there with you. I work out at Camp Gladiator 3x / wk and run 3-4 times/wk and I try to eat as healthy as possible. I would love for the scale to move but it just doesn’t. You do look fabulous!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

