healthy lifestyle · running · Uncategorized · vegan

Logging food – EYE OPENING

Hey, everyone!  Happy Monday!

It was a great weekend!  On Saturday, my husband and I went to the gym and had a great workout!  I’m just so excited about the progress I’m making with my strength.  I’m up to 115 pounds on the deadlift, and I can push 255 pounds on the prowler.  I’m carrying 18-pound kettle bells, and I’m using 15-pound weights for bent-over rows.  I can hold a side plank for one minute.  Ugh, but I still suck at push-ups!  Baby steps, I keep telling myself, baby steps.  I’ll get there.

On Sunday, my husband and I went for a 5-mile run.  I love to run with David because his pace is faster than mine, which pushes me to go faster than I would normally go.  Here was our pace:

Mile 1: 11:47, Mile 2: 11:37, Mile 3: 11:41, Mile 4: 11:51, Mile 5: 11:48

For only the second time in my running life, I ran 5 miles under an hour!  And I felt really good!

So things are going pretty well fitness-wise; but I’ve been a bit frustrated with the scale, even though I keep saying that the scale doesn’t matter and weight is only a number.  Except when that number says I’ve gained 4 pounds over the last several weeks and it just isn’t moving.  Even though I say it doesn’t bother me, it really does.  And I know it shouldn’t.

Still…..

I finally reached out to the trainer because although I’m happy with my progress, I’m gaining weight and I still have quite a bit of fat in my stomach area.  He asked me to log my food for a few days and send it to him.

God, I really hate logging my food.  It’s a pain in the ass; I don’t always remember what I eat and I don’t always know how much I eat because I don’t measure my food.

But the thing I hate the most about logging food is that it really makes you take an honest look at what you’re eating (or in my case, what I’m drinking).  So even though I hate logging what I’m eating, it really does give me a reality check.

I found myself not wanting to indulge as much because I knew that I’d have to write it down and my trainer would see it.  But I also wanted to be honest about how I eat and if my inability to lose fat is because of my nutrition, then I think it’s important to be honest and not behave a certain way just for a few days while I’m logging food, only to go back to what I was doing before.  I’m not going to learn anything if I can’t be open and honest.

So I logged the black bean burger and fries.  I logged the 2 pints of beer.  I logged the glasses of wine I had.  I logged the pizza.  The chocolate truffles.

It wasn’t all bad, don’t get me wrong.  I eat oatmeal with fruit, lots of veggies, whole grains, and lean protein.  But it was eye opening to see how much I let myself indulge, especially during the weekends, so it’s no surprise that I still struggle with my weight, despite how much I’m working out.

I’m reluctant and a bit embarrassed to share the food log, but I’ll do it.  I’d be lying if I wasn’t tempted to just forget the whole thing and pretend like my trainer and I didn’t have the discussion.  But that’s just cheating ME.  I’m committed to being healthy; I want to continue to raise the bar and improve and I think that being honest with myself and others about how I’m eating is part of that commitment, no matter how many mistakes I make along the way.

I’m not perfect.  I don’t expect perfection.  But I can do better.

6 thoughts on “Logging food – EYE OPENING

  1. I just love those people who say “just eat intuitively”. Well, if it were really that easy, we wouldn’t have a problem with our weight, right?

    Tracking really works for me. Would I rather not track? Sure. But if that’s what it takes to maintain my weight, it’s a small price to pay!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been tracking my food since 2012, and that’s the only way I managed to lose about 20 pounds! I’m still embarrassed by my log sometimes, especially when I eat a whole slice of cheesecake with whipped cream & hot fudge or eat more calories in snacks that I did in dinner, but it really does teach you what you’re doing wrong and how to try to fix it. It’s okay that you aren’t perfect. What’s important is that you try—and that you don’t let calorie-counting consume you, either. It’s okay to have days where you go over and indulge and eat and drink the things you love, as long as those days aren’t every day 🙂 Good luck! Keep us updated.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hate tracking too, but I do it. It is what has worked for me. I hope that it be day I won’t have to. I am not quite as strict as I used to be about it, but I do weigh in weekly too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

