healthy lifestyle · Uncategorized · vegan

I love food….and wine.

ricky-gervais

I’ve been absent for a bit.  I haven’t been inspired to write anything, and nothing exciting is going on.  I don’t want to bore people with my normal routine of work, exercise, and what I’m eating.  This morning, however, I saw this clip of Ricky Gervais on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon and it really struck a chord.

No, I don’t want to be drunk all of the time, but I find myself drinking a bit more wine and eating a bit more junk food than usual.  Is it stress?  The long, dreary days of winter?  The lack of sunshine and fresh air?  It’s probably the combination of all of it.  Winters can be hard, and let’s face it, most people I know are in a funk right now.

It used to be, like Ricky says in his interview, that if I wanted to eat and drink a lot, I could just exercise a bit more, or all of the exercise I did would negate the calories that I consumed and although I’d gain a pound or two here and there, I could always just work out a little extra and I’d be fine.

Lately, however, over the last several weeks, the scale has gone up….and up….and not the other way.  WTF?  I know I’ve said before that I’m not obsessed with the scale any longer, but that was before I gained a few pounds, pounds that seem to be sticking around.

I’m still working out at the gym.  I’m still adding weight to my strength training.  I’m running a couple of times a week for cardio.  But nothing seems to be happening.  I’ve reached the dreaded plateau.

But like Ricky says, it’s my fault.  I’m eating too much.  And instead of just having one glass of wine at night, I’ll have two.  Instead of ordering a salad, I’ll get French fries.  Instead of having a light beer, I’ll have a craft beer…or two.

Up to this point, I haven’t had to “diet” or watch what I eat too much because I’ve been fit and active enough to stay at a healthy weight.  But I’m 50 now.  It gets harder and harder to maintain a healthy weight as I get older.  It gets harder and harder to make up for the times when I decided to indulge a bit too much.

So I’m going to have to practice some moderation.  I’m going to have to figure out a better way to deal with my stress and anxiety.

But I love food.

I love wine.

A lot.

They are my friends.

Sigh.

 

3 thoughts on “I love food….and wine.

Leave a Reply

