healthy lifestyle · Uncategorized · vegan

TGIF 1-20-17

It’s almost the weekend!  I’m planning on seeing La La Land with my daughters on Sunday, but otherwise, I’m looking forward to a quiet weekend of reading and watching Gilmore Girls on Netflix.

Those of you who are friends with me on Facebook are already aware of the wonderful news that we got regarding Kayla’s mass:  it was benign!  We are happy and relieved and grateful for all of the prayers and positive wishes we received.  Hopefully, Kayla will have smooth sailing from now on!  Things can go back to normal.  Again.  For the time being, anyway.  We’re not even sure what “normal” means anymore, but we do what we can, you know?

Normal life for me means focusing on workout goals.  Now that my knee is back to normal, my workouts at the gym are back in full swing.  On Monday, I pushed 185 pounds on the prowler and on Wednesday, I deadlifted 95 pounds.  I look forward to going to the gym every single time.  I hate that it can be crowded, but everyone at the gym has been courteous and respects personal space so far.  I’m just so grateful that I finally got the courage to join the gym.  It’s been so good for both me and my husband (who has lost 20 pounds so far!)  I’ve stopped obsessing about the scale and instead, I’m focusing on my strength.  I think now, more than ever, it’s important for women to be strong, don’t you think?  Not only physically, but mentally.  Strength training has helped me build my confidence.  I see women at the gym who are all shapes, sizes, and ages and they are all strong, which is so amazing and I am truly inspired by all of them.

I’m also continuing to run, although with the winter weather, I’m on the treadmill rather than running outdoors.  Luckily, Netflix helps the time on the treadmill go by more easily.  Still….I yearn for warmer weather and longer days when I’ll be able to run outdoors in the fresh air.

My husband is remodeling our upstairs bathroom and is installing a claw foot tub and I am looking forward to long soaks in the tub with lots of bubbles, a glass of wine, and a good book.  Ahhhh….I won’t have a care in the world and it will be heaven.

Speaking of books, I’ve read a couple of really good books over the last week, both of which had strong female characters, which I really love.  The first book was The Chemist by Stephanie Meyer and the second was The Other Einstein by Heather Terrell.  I just started a non-fiction book called The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer by Siddhartha Mukherjee, which was the winner of the Pulitzer Prize.  It’s a fascinating book.

Have a wonderful weekend full of fun and relaxation!

 

5 thoughts on “TGIF 1-20-17

  1. So glad to hear it was benign. You must all be so relieved.

    If you can, watch “Sing Street”, it was nominated for a Golden Globe. It’s on Netflix.

    Ooh, claw-foot tub! I’m jealous!

    Kat

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

