Uncategorized · vegan

Sunshine smoothie

sunshine-smoothie

Why is it that my smoothies never look as pretty as the ones on the internet or in cookbooks?  Regardless of how they look, though, I haven’t made a smoothie that I didn’t like so far.  This morning’s smoothie is made with:

  • 1 cup frozen mango chunks
  • 1 banana (with a couple of bites missing because my dog, Lillie, LOVES bananas, so I had to share)
  • 1 Tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I like Sunwarrior)
  • 1 cup unsweetened, non-dairy milk
  • 1/2 cup orange juice

This stuff is like liquid sunshine, which tastes lovely on a cold, dark winter morning.  Plus, I read yesterday that ginger is a natural anti-inflammatory and pain reliever, and since I’ve been having some pain from my knee arthritis, I thought I’d give the ginger thing a try.  I’m all about natural medicinal therapies and have been trying to keep the ibuprofen and Tylenol at a minimum.  In addition to trying the ginger, I’ve also been rubbing essential oils on my knee which has helped a lot.  I can’t get in to see the doctor until January 11, so I’ll have to eat lots of ginger!

Have a wonderful Friday!

 

7 thoughts on “Sunshine smoothie

    1. I started drinking a smoothie every morning after joining the gym because it’s an easy way to get in some protein first thing in the morning; in addition, it’s an easy way to get in some servings of fruits and veggies, plus flaxseed. I usually have a second breakfast later in the morning with some oatmeal.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

