cancer · running · Uncategorized · vegan

I’ve had enough of 2016

When I look back at 2016, a lot of great things happened:

  1.  I ran my second marathon.  I also got to meet an online friend in person and we ran the marathon together.  It was pretty damn epic.
  2. I went to Wrigley Field for the first time and saw the Cubs play.  By that time, they had already clinched a playoff spot and so the game was pretty anticlimatic, but it was still fun to be at the game.
  3. THE CUBS WON THE WORLD SERIES!!!
  4. The Dallas Cowboys are having a really great season, despite the fact that their starting quarterback was hurt before the season even got started.  Turns out, his injury was a blessing in disguise.  As a long-time Cowboys fan, it’s been a really, REALLY long time since I’ve had this much fun watching football.
  5. We took a family trip to Las Vegas over Thanksgiving break.  It was our first time in Vegas and we had a really great time.
  6. I stepped outside my comfort zone and took a chance by leaving a great job for a new position.  I’m now doing research administration, among some other responsibilities, for a sarcoma cancer research group.  I’m one step closer, I think, to having my dream job of creating positive change and making a difference.
  7. I got a new tattoo, #6.
  8. I found a new fitness addiction:  biking.
  9. Then I found another fitness addiction:  strength training.
  10. Kayla has stayed healthy for most of this year.  Halleluia!

And then there were some not-so-great things that happened this year, most of them recently:

  1.  At Kayla’s most recent check-up last week, we found out that she has a small mass.  We have no idea what it is, if it’s even something to be concerned about, but she will have surgery in a couple of weeks to have it removed.  She also had a couple of biopsies done today in the Dermatology Clinic on some skin abnormalities she has.  We will find out the results in a couple of weeks.
  2. My knee is acting up again and so I’m going to make an appointment with the sports medicine doctor.  I’m hoping I can just get another injection, since the first one did so well, but it’s frustrating because I’ve been making a lot of progress with my workouts in the gym, and working out is the #1 thing that helps me cope with stress and when I can’t work out, I find myself getting depressed and grouchy.  I also fear that maybe I’m just getting too old and my body just can’t keep up with the things I want to do and that maybe I need to rethink my fitness routines.  Just thinking about that is unfathomable to me.
  3. We’ve lost a lot of famous people this year, Prince being the most devastating for me personally, but then Carrie Fisher died yesterday.  My heart aches and grieves right now.
  4. Call me a sore loser, call me whatever you want, but my heart aches for our country and I fear for the direction it seems to be heading after the most recent election.  I look around in disbelief at some of the things that are going on and the level of tolerance from those around me.  I hope to God that I’m just being melodramatic and that everything will be fine.

I’m currently reading a book called, The Untethered Soul by Michael A. Singer, and the timing is perfect.  This book is just what I need, I think, to help me work on my psyche fitness, since I’m taking a break from my physical fitness.

“When you feel pain, simply view it as energy. Just start seeing these inner experiences as energy passing through your heart and before the eye of your consciousness. Then relax. Do the opposite of contracting and closing. Relax and release. Relax your heart until you are actually face-to-face with the exact place where it hurts. Stay open and receptive so you can be present right where the tension is. You must be willing to be present right at the place of the tightness and pain, and then relax and go even deeper. This is very deep growth and transformation. But you will not want to do this. You will feel tremendous resistance to doing this, and that’s what makes it so powerful. As you relax and feel the resistance, the heart will want to pull away, to close, to protect, and to defend itself. Keep relaxing. Relax your shoulders and relax your heart. Let go and give room for the pain to pass through you. It’s just energy. Just see it as energy and let it go.” – Michael A. Singer, The Untethered Soul: The Journey Beyond Yourself

I hope that 2017 is a much healthier, more peaceful year for everyone.  I probably won’t make any resolutions, but as always, I strive to be a better person each and every day.  I never want to stop growing and learning.  I will do my best to cherish each and every moment of life that I have, although I’m human and I know that sometimes I’ll fuck up and lose my focus and will fixate on shit that just doesn’t matter.  I’m a work in progress. However, I do promise that in 2017 I will do my best to be kind, to love passionately, to help others, and to work hard, but also play hard.

Peace and good tidings to you all!

Courage for Kayla!

 

3 thoughts on “I’ve had enough of 2016

  1. I was so happy to finally meet you in 2016 and it was awesome to run the Chicago Marathon with you. 2016 was such a terrible year for losing great artists. The one that made me the saddest was Alan Rickman. But also Prince, Robin Williams, George Michael and Princess Leia as she will always be to me. My resolutions are usually the same. Work to be as healthy and happy as I can be. And live more in the present and love my friends and family including my furry family. Sorry your knee is acting up again. I envy your devotion to working out. I have had a good week of healthiness! :0) I don’t feel the same about the direction our country is heading in but I respect your opinion. I adapt always to whomever is elected. But, I’m very optimistic about 2017. Happy New Year and Love you and your family!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

