healthy lifestyle · Uncategorized

Put YOUR mask on first

Our family recently returned from a trip to Las Vegas to celebrate Kayla’s 21st birthday and her one-year remission.  Our family has a lot to be thankful for and what better way to spend a long Thanksgiving weekend than in Vegas, right?  We had a great time!

Before takeoff on our flight to Vegas, the flight attendants were going through their usual spiel about what to do if the plane has issues.  As someone who is terrified of flying, I pay very close attention to the instructions of what to do if the plane crashes.  Odds are, I’m going to die if that happens, but HEY, you never know.  I want to be prepared.  Thus, the purchase of red wine when the attendant asked if I’d like something from the beverage/snack cart.

One of the things that really struck me for some reason was when the flight attendant instructed to always put your own air mask on FIRST before putting a mask on your child or disabled companion.

Okay, I don’t know about any of you, but my first instinct is to ALWAYS take care of someone else before me.  I’d be that person making sure my family had their masks on before putting mine on.  I wouldn’t even think about it.

And then I’d die.  Because I didn’t put my mask on FIRST!

This is what we do, though, isn’t it?  We put others before ourselves.  We don’t take care of our health because we’re too busy taking care of our family, working to pay bills, volunteering for this and that.  Sure, everyone around us is taken care of, but what about you?  And how can you continue to help others if your health declines and you’re no longer physically (or mentally) able to take care of those around you?

Put your mask on first.  Then look around and see who needs help putting their mask on.  The world will be a much better place with both you and those you help in it.

 

Leave a Reply

