Uncategorized

Post-marathon goals

If you’re a runner or know a runner, you know that it’s very common for a runner to fall into a post-race depression.  For months, your life is consumed with training and the big day comes, you run your race, and then……

It’s like Christmas morning after opening all of your presents.  There’s all of this anticipation that’s built up and then once it’s done, you’re left with a feeling of “now what?”

I’m not going to lie, though.  It’s been great knowing that I can wake up on the weekends and not have a long training run to do.  That’s been nice!  But I’m a bit lost as to what to do with my free time without having any goals to work towards.  I’m the type of person that is motivated by goals.  I can’t just exercise for the fun of it.  I want to be stronger, leaner, and build my endurance.

Therefore, I have made new goals for the next couple of months:

  1. Complete the 21 Day Fix workout program.  There is a workout for every day of the week, so if I can do this entire program without missing a workout, that will be a big accomplishment for me.
  2. Eat cleaner and smarter.  My diet over the last several months has basically consisted of “Eat all the food” and I’ve been able to get away with it because of all of the running I’ve been doing.  Now I have to get back to more sensible choices and portions.
  3. Drink more water.  This has always been a challenge for me.  It’s not that I don’t like water; it’s just that I get busy throughout the day and just don’t drink water often enough.  I have a water bottle with me at work.  I’m looking at it right now.  But I get engrossed in my work and then before I know it, the work day has ended and I’ve realized that I haven’t even drunk 1/2 of the bottle.  I need to get in the habit of drinking water more often.
  4. Get 10,000 steps in every day.  Even though I’m pretty active most days, I often find myself in front of my computer for hours at a time without moving.  I have a standing desk, but I’m not moving, so I’m trying to take more breaks and get more steps in.  Yesterday I found myself walking around the block at home because I only had a few more steps to get to 10,000.  Hmmm…I think this could be a new obsession!
  5. Run 600 miles by the end of the year.  I only have about 75 more miles to go, so I think I can do this.

A friend of mine just sent me a notice about a 75-mile relay race next May!  I’m already trying to get a team together.  Another big race to focus on – WINNING!

How about you?  Do you need big goals to stay motivated?  It’s not just me, right?

Right?

 

One thought on “Post-marathon goals

Leave a Reply

