Uncategorized

Two weeks until Chicago!

My friend, Charlotte, and I ran together for the first time yesterday.  As I talked about in my last blog post, Charlotte and I decided to run the Chicago Marathon together.  We have been virtual friends for a while now and this weekend was the first time that we met in person.

I was a little worried that when Charlotte and I met in person it would be awkward, or she would be a different person than the person I knew online.  From the second we met, however, we connected like old friends!  My husband commented that we are two peas in a pod, and my youngest daughter said that Charlotte and I are really cute together!  I agree!  I mean, seriously, look at us:

charlotte_me

Adorable!

Charlotte and her husband arrived on Friday afternoon, and Charlotte and I chatted away until dinner time, when we met my husband at a local pub, along with my youngest daughter, Kayla, and her boyfriend.  We had such a good time!  Charlotte and I decided that we would do a 10-mile run early the next morning.

Charlotte and I decided to use :30/:30 intervals.  I was a bit nervous that the constant switching would bother my knee, but I received an injection in my knee on Tuesday from my sports medicine doctor and I was feeling really good, so I thought I would give it a try.  Charlotte and I both confessed to each other that we were worried we would slow the other up because of our slow running.  No worries, though!  We run at the same pace and the 10 miles went really smoothly with the :30/:30 intervals!  We chatted the whole time, which made the run go fast.  My knee felt great and since I got bigger shoes, my toes haven’t been hurting.  For the first time in a few weeks, I’m feeling very, very good about the upcoming marathon.  Charlotte felt good as well, so I think that it will be easy to be relaxed and have fun at the marathon.

me_charlotte

After the run, we showered and dressed and then we went to lunch with the hubbies and had beer and lots of good food.  Then Charlotte and her husband had to take off, and I was sad to see them go, but we will see them in two weeks.

Oh wow.  Two weeks?!?!?!  Shit is getting real.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Two weeks until Chicago!

  1. I really enjoyed meeting you and your family and running together. I feel like we have been friends for a long time. I am very happy and excited that we are running the marathon together. Kevin really likes David too. He said he was the most genuine person he has met. I’ll see you 2 weeks from today!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

