running · Uncategorized

16-mile run

Monday?!?  It’s Monday?!?  Where the bleep did the weekend go?

Oh yeah, half of it was spent doing my long run.  Okay, maybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but the long run felt really, really long.  I had 16 miles on the training schedule.  I set out Saturday morning around 7:00 a.m.  The temperature was in the 60’s, and I spent much of the run in the shade, which was really nice.  I did small loops around town so that I could stop at the house for hydration and fuel.  I just didn’t feel like dealing with the hydration pack for some reason, and my stomach was feeling a bit iffy, so I felt like I should run by the house frequently in case I needed to use the bathroom.

Reading through my first 16-mile run last time, I was a bit nervous because that run sucked.  Big time.  But looking at my pace time and the intervals I was doing at that time, I realized that I was trying to go too fast.  So this time around, I used 1:00/:30 run/walk intervals and that seemed to work out really well.  My pace was consistently around 13:46, and despite the fact that my legs felt really tired the last two miles, I finished really strong and I’m pretty happy about how the run went, especially since the last time around, I went home in tears because I was so frustrated with the experience.

For fuel, I decided to try something different.  I had my usual Jelly Belly Sports Beans, but I also had a Lara bar.  The Lara bar was easy on my stomach, and it seemed to keep the hunger at bay and kept my energy level up.  I also drank lots of water and Gatorade for hydration.  During the last couple of miles, I had to slow down a couple of times because my stomach was cramping, but otherwise, I didn’t have any stomach issues the entire run and I only had to stop and go to the bathroom once and that was because I had to pee from all of the water I was drinking!

For the rest of the day, I felt pretty good, although my left knee was aching like crazy (I have some arthritis).  The next morning I got up and ran 3.5 miles and my legs felt completely fine, however.

I’m at that point in my training when I’m just sick of doing it.  I still have two months to go before I do the marathon.  I’m really excited about the marathon, but when I look at my training program and see that I still have an 18-, 20-, and 22-mile run to do, my heart sinks with dread.  I know that this normal, but I really need to just suck it up and find some inspiration and motivation to keep me going.

Suggestions?

 

5 thoughts on “16-mile run

  1. It sounds like your run went very well. I also tried some different fueling this weekend. I usually use SportBeans but tried out the Kind Pressed Cherry Apple Chia bar. It worked nicely and wasn’t as sickeningly sweet as the beans.
    If you’re dreading it that much, you might want to rethink the race. ❤

    Like

    1. No, I’m too invested in the race to back out. That’s definitely not an option. And I’m actually looking forward to the race itself. I’m just not excited about the training part. But I guess that’s why the longer runs are every other weekend, so that I can give myself time to get pumped up and motivated. At least I hope so!

      Like

      1. I would run with you if I lived near you (of course I’d need to work up to that distance first). Hopefully a cutback week will give you your mojo back.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have a friend running with me and I know that running with her will be a lot of fun and so I’ll just keep thinking about that when I’m not feeling motivated! Thank you, though! It would be fun to run with you sometime! 🙂

        Like

  2. Don’t do a full. Sorry, I couldn’t resist. There’s a reason I haven’t done a full! Halfs are so, so much easier.

    You’re doing great. I’ve been taking the larabar mini bits with me for fuel lately, although I haven’t eaten anything the last couple of runs (only 7 & 8 miles).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

