running · Uncategorized

30 Day No Alcohol Challenge Day 7

It’s Sunday already???  Geesh, the weekends fly by way too fast!  It’s been a great weekend for me so far, although I must admit, I was worried it wouldn’t be.

Earlier in the week, I decided to give up alcohol for 30 days.  I’ve been trying to get myself back on track with eating healthy and I felt like drinking on the weekends was derailing all of the hard work I’d put in during the week.  I decided that I needed to get things under control by giving up alcohol for a short time to see if that would help.

I have good news to report.  So far the challenge has gone well.  On Friday night, my husband and I went to a graduation party and I knew there wouldn’t be any healthy plant-based food for me to eat, so I ate dinner before we went.  At the party, there was beer, cake, chips, and other things, but all I had the entire night was half of a glass of root beer.  I still had a great time and got to catch up with a lot of people that I hadn’t seen in a while.  Day one of the weekend was a success.

Yesterday was a really busy day for us.  I took one of our dogs to the vet for his annual check-up.  Then my husband and I went grocery shopping.  We got home and went for a 3-mile run, which felt fabulous!  I showered, dressed, and then my husband, daughter, and I went to a graduation party.  When we got to the party, the hostess had bought me a vegan cookie because she wanted to be sure that I had dessert!  Aw, how sweet!  Along with the cookie, I had some veggies and nuts.  Then we were off to my other daughter’s house.  We did a little shopping at the local market and I managed to score a green juice!  Yes!  While the rest of my family had beer and chips, I sipped on my green juice.

13220872_10209810998659593_1895696958163865528_n

I also had some water that I infused with cucumber, lime and lemon.  So good!

13240729_10209809443340711_8087459036068157225_n

We then headed to an Italian restaurant for dinner.  For the first time in oh, I don’t know….FOREVER, I didn’t have a glass of wine.  Instead, I ordered water.  I’ll be honest, though, I was tempted to just order one glass of wine.  But I didn’t.  Dinner was awesome!  I had pasta with artichokes, sundried tomatoes, capers, and kalamata olives.  There was oil in it, but it was delicious!  Sorry, I forgot to take a picture.  I also had a couple of rolls, so I did indulge a bit too much, but it’s my fault for not eating much earlier in the day.  After dinner we came home and the husband and I sat out on the back patio around the fire pit, listening to the Cubs play on the radio and just relaxing.  Normally, this is the time I would have had a few beers or few glasses of wine, but instead I had some coffee.

I slept really well last night.  I woke up this morning and stepped on the scale and I’m just super happy with how well things are going with this no-alcohol challenge.  I’m making better food choices, I feel better, and so instead of dreading the next three weeks, I’m looking forward to continuing to get more fit and trim!

Today my husband and I are planning on getting our bikes out for the first time this year!  Then we’ll spend some more time out in our backyard paradise, as it’s supposed to be 82 degrees today!  Later we have a couple of more graduation parties, but I’m honestly not worried about being tempted by alcohol or junk food.  Surviving Friday and Saturday has given me a lot of confidence and I know that I can do this.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a great week!

3 thoughts on “30 Day No Alcohol Challenge Day 7

Leave a Reply

