running · Uncategorized

Athlete mentality

It’s Thursday and we’re getting close to the weekend!  How has your week been so far?  I’ve had a really good week.  My eating has been on track and I’ve done all of the workouts on my marathon training plan.  However, this tends to be my pattern.  I do really well during the week and then on the weekend I allow myself to indulge and completely fall of track.

Weekends = train wrecks, if I want to be completely honest.

Doing the 30 day no alcohol challenge should help.  But also, I’m working on getting myself into athlete mentality.  It’s difficult to think of myself as an athlete.  I’m a slow runner.  I do run/walk intervals.  I can’t do a push-up.  (God knows I try like hell, though.)

And yet….I’m going to do a marathon.  I’m going to move my legs for 26.2 miles.  And this is the second time I’ll do it.  How many people can say they’ve done that?  I think it qualifies me as an athlete, don’t you think?  Athletes work hard to achieve their fitness goals.  They also stay disciplined and take care of their bodies and I’ll bet you won’t see them drinking lots of beer on the weekends and eating junk food while they’re training for a race. So guess what?  You’re not going to see this athlete doing it, either!

Athlete…..wow.  I’m still trying to wrap my brain around that.

9a0848094bf975b6d7b4ed5e10c4bfa2

How about you?  Do you consider yourself an athlete?

 

5 thoughts on “Athlete mentality

  1. Oh, I can definitely do push ups but I really doubt my body would stand up to 26.2. It likes to get injured with just 13.1. Which thankfully I am not right now, anyway, so that’s a good thing.

    I am struggling getting back to more normal eating right now, and for some reason I’m rungry — even though I’m not running right now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

