running · Uncategorized

30 Day No Alcohol Challenge

Sometimes I come up with these crazy ideas.  But in my defense, the ideas usually stem from necessity.  Although the Chicago Marathon isn’t until October, which seems like a really long time from now, in truth October is going to be here before I know it.  And the really long runs are going to be starting in my training program in just a few short weeks.

I have a confession to make: I already feel like I’m struggling with my training.  I’m doing the runs and the cross training like I’m supposed to, but I just don’t feel like I’m in my mojo.  At this point, I had hoped to have lost a few pounds and be in really good shape, but I feel like I’ve regressed and am no closer to being in better shape than I was six months ago.

Guys, it’s my nutrition.  I’m just not eating well.  And I’m drinking WAY too much, now that the warmer days have arrived.  My husband and I love to spend our weekends hanging out on the backyard patio, soaking up the sun, listening to the Cubs play on the radio, and drinking ice cold beer.  LOTS of ice cold beer.  We like to eat out a lot, too.  I don’t do well making healthy choices at restaurants, if I want to be honest with myself.  I go with every intention of ordering a salad, but somehow black bean burgers and french fries sneak their way onto my plate.  Hey, how did that happen?

I have to figure out something.  I have to get my ass in training mode, like NOW.  I think that alcohol has been a big part of drawing me off track and so I’m going to give it up for 30 days.  Not FOREVER.  Just 30 days.  I can do this.  Just think of the calories I’ll be saving, and the money.  It’s going to be great and I’m going to feel so much better and lighter.  I can do this.

Right?

Stay tuned…..

3 thoughts on “30 Day No Alcohol Challenge

  1. A 30-day reset is awesome! I’ve had similar feelings, like alcohol was effecting how I feel and perform the next day. I cut back how frequently I consume, trying to keep it to just one drink when out with friends, and typically only Sunday evening at home. I believe it’s helped! Keep us posted on how it goes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

