Uncategorized

Let’s be honest

For the most part, I think that social media is a really useful tool.  I love seeing what everyone is up to on Facebook.  I can keep tabs on what friends and family are doing, even though we may not see each other very often.  Instagram is a great place to post pictures.  I love scrolling through and seeing smiling faces and pictures of yummy food.  I like to post pictures, too, on both Instagram and Facebook of fun things I’m doing with my family, the healthy foods I’m eating, and the epic workouts I’m having.  I like spreading positive messages; I enjoy the cute animal videos and funny running memes.

I find the people who post their drama on social media to be a bit annoying, especially those people who passively-aggressively speak to those they’re pissed at.  Rather than confront them directly, they post something on Facebook that is supposed to be directed at the person they’re upset with, but they do it covertly, so really no one understands what the hell they’re talking about.  And then there are all of the political posts.  Scroll, scroll, scroll…..

So yeah, I prefer the positive, happy stuff that’s posted on social media.  However, the problem with this is that I start to compare my life with others.  You probably know what I’m talking about.  You see that someone has gone on their billionth tropical vacation of the year and you think, “Why can’t I have that life?” or you see someone who has posted their before/after pics after being on a diet/exercise program and they look FANTASTIC and you ask yourself why don’t my after pics look like that???

It’s one thing to be inspired and motivated, it’s another when you start getting down on yourself because you don’t feel like you’re good enough because you’re comparing yourself to……well, to what?

If you look at my posts and think, “Wow, she’s so healthy and she’s really fit and she really seems to have her shit together”, it’s because that’s what I want you to think so that hopefully you’ll be motivated to want to do the same thing.  I want to be able to inspire people to take better care of themselves, to eat more plants, and to exercise more.

And most of the time, I am eating healthy and I’m exercising and getting fit and seem to have my shit together.

But then there’s the stuff I don’t post about:

  • Worrying about Kayla getting sick again.  Every damn time she gets a fever or a stomachache, my heart sinks.
  •  Going through four pints of the new non-dairy Ben & Jerry’s ice cream in less than two weeks.
  • Snapping at my husband because I’m cranky and I’m not really sure why I’m cranky – the weather?  Being mad at myself for making bad food choices?  Who knows, really?
  • The damn scale and how it never seems to move, and how I wish I could stop worrying about it, but I don’t.
  • Trying to sell our house and all of the things that come along with it, like busting my ass to make sure everything is in its place before a showing and then one of the cats decides to pee on the floor.  Or something breaks and needs fixed and you feel like as much money as you’re spending on this old house, why are we moving again?

I figure that no one wants to read about that stuff, so instead I try to keep it positive and motivating.  Which makes me realize that others are probably doing that, too.  That probably others are having their bad moments, their share of frustrations and heartbreak, only they choose not to post about it, either.  So really, I shouldn’t be comparing myself to them.  I’m not walking in their shoes, I don’t know their life, maybe not the real one, anyway, so I just need to worry about what’s going on in my own life.

comparisonhighlightreel

 

12 thoughts on “Let’s be honest

  1. I keep deleting what I’m trying to say because I can’t get it worded right, but I agree with everything you’re saying. I use my “public” space for uplifting, positive stuff, and share more detailed, intimate (good/bad) things only in certain groups. You are definitely not alone. And OF COURSE you worry about Kayla!! That’s what a good mom does! ❤ ❤ Oh, and that Ben & Jerry's – I have to stay out of the ice cream aisle at the store now because that stuff is just ridiculous!! Hugs, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Laura! I think it’s especially difficult for us runners – we’re always comparing our mileage and pace to other runners and it’s hard sometimes not to get caught up in all that. But the awesome thing about the running community is that everyone truly is supportive, no matter how fast or slow I am! I’m truly grateful to have a badass runner like you to aspire to! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Social media obviously does have lots of benefits — without it, I would ever have “met” you, Laura, Natalie & countless others.

    But let’s face it, most of us do put a carefully curated version of our lives online. I rarely post the bad photos of myself (occasionally I will, to illustrate a point, usually), and believe me, there are plenty of them! I’m not really a very photogenic person. Just ask my person. You gotta take a lot of photos to get those good ones that go online!

    And you’re absolutely right; before we give into FOMO, we have to remember that you never know what’s going on behind closed doors.

    Big hugs on the selling process! We were always lucky enough to sell out homes after we’d already moved out — I can’t even begin to imagine showing my home with Giz & Lola at home. Although basically we’ve always been forced to move due to my husband’s job.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We have an 18-year-old cat and a 10-year-old dog, both who have occasional accidents. And the 10-year-old dog is blind, so sometimes she gets nervous and poops on the floor! My poor babies! So I worry about the house smelling, and of course we can never keep up with the pet hair….hopefully another animal lover will end up buying the house! LOL

      Like

  3. I hear you! We sold our house in 2010 and it was gruelling! We moved into an apartment with three older cats ( we lost one in the process of selling when she suddenly took ill. She was 18). We sold the house, had to pack up our house, the apartment, everything in storage an my mother’s apartment since she moved to the new house with us! It is the most stressful thing, and I can only imagine the added stress of worrying about a family member on top of it. ❤️ Having said that, you have the Ben and Jerry’s already?!!! No fair!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with everything you said. First, I’m so glad there wasn’t social media in my teenage years. Lol I try to post things that tell a kind of story of my life. I hate drama on FB. I get upset at people who complain about posts of running, my kids and dogs and my life. I’d had people say I’m boasting of my good life. That really upsets me. Who wants to see me post about getting up for work at 4:30am every morning and working 12 hour days? Or when I’m sad or sick or depressed! I chose to post positive things. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The haters are probably people who are unhappy with their own lives! We may post about all of the good things going on in our lives, but that doesn’t mean that our lives are perfect! It just means that we’re choosing to focus on the positive! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

