Uncategorized

Monday musings…wait, it’s Tuesday

I meant to write this post yesterday, but didn’t get around to it.  My plan is to have a weekly feature called Monday Musings, but I’m not really off to a great start, am I?  Oh well, better late than never, as they say.

I try not to be bothered by what is going on around me, what others are doing.  I only have control over what I do.  I can’t control how others eat.  I can’t make them more active.  Perhaps I can inspire or motivate them through my actions, but more than likely I won’t. And I can’t take that personally (although I do sometimes). I can only take care of myself and live my life.

But I just gotta get this off my chest.  Yes, it’s your life and you can eat whatever the heck you want and be as unhealthy as you want, and take as many medications as you want and be as sick as you want.  Your circus, your monkeys.  Whatever floats your boat.  But I just don’t get it and I would really love it if someone could explain it to me.  Why would you want to spend the rest of our life sick and tired, going to doctor appointments, spending money on medications, when you don’t have to?  When all you have to do is change what you eat.

I spent most of my life eating the standard American diet:  fast food, processed foods, fat, sugar, salt.  I felt like shit.  I was always tired.  But man, those foods tasted good.  And I kept telling myself that life is just too short, I’m going to enjoy eating this stuff.

Until I stopped eating it.  Until I changed my diet to whole, non-processed, plant-based foods.  Then I realized, what the hell was I thinking?  Since changing my diet, I feel really, REALLY good.  This is how I want to spend the rest of my life:  feeling good.  Why wouldn’t you want to feel good?

I’m not perfect.  Sometimes I have too many beers or glasses of wine, sometimes I indulge in greasy, fatty foods or decadent desserts.   But I pay for it after.  I feel like shit.  So I try not to indulge very often.  I just love feeling good and healthy too much to throw it all away.  But I get it:  change is hard.  I didn’t just change my eating habits overnight.  It was a gradual process.  And it was difficult.  Hell, sometimes it’s still difficult.  But it’s so worth it!

I like not feeling tired all of the time.  I like that I don’t have to take any medications and don’t have any medical issues.  Once you experience feeling healthy, you don’t want to feel like shit again.  Trust me on this one.

I know how life works, though.  Life can often be ironic, so who’s to say I won’t end up getting cancer or die in a car accident?  But here’s the thing:  no matter how long I live, I want to spend it feeling good.  I want to have the energy and stamina to go on adventures and be active, and spend time with my loved ones, and do good things, and just LIVE, you know?

Why wouldn’t everyone want that?

If you’re ready for change, but just aren’t there yet, may I suggest an amazing, powerful documentary that might just give you that final push you need?  It’s called PlantPure Nation and you can watch it for free on Netflix.  You can watch it on the website for a small fee, too.  I urge you to watch it.  It’s basically what got me on my rant today.

I’m done ranting, though.  I love you guys!  I just want you to be around a long time and to live a healthy, amazing life!  Let’s all do this together!  Let’s be PLANT STRONG!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Monday musings…wait, it’s Tuesday

  1. I could have written that! And what makes me so sad is seeing children eating their entire diet in junk food. Kids are getting diabetes at an increasing rate. Shame on those parents. I don’t always eat as healthy as I plan but I’m never unaware of what I’m eating and its effect on my health. Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Do you think it’s lack of education? Or the fact that it’s cheaper to buy a Happy Meal than a bag of apples? I don’t know what the answer is. I know that for the poorer communities, it’s tough, and for the communities that don’t have fresh produce available to them, it’s tough as well. But for those people who are educated and KNOW BETTER and have access to healthy choices and don’t do it – I don’t get it, and I struggle to understand and empathize. None of us are perfect and we all make poor food choices sometimes, but AT LEAST WE’RE TRYING. It’s the people that won’t even try. That say, “I can’t” or “I won’t”. Those are the people that frustrate me the most. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am not sure it’s because healthy food is more expensive. For me, it was more laziness I’m sad to say. It’s easier to drive through than shop and cook. If fresh veggies is not available or affordable, there are plenty of healthier chooses than Burger King. Maybe it’s because of busy lifestyles. I see obese kids and my heart breaks. I was a fat kid at about 12 or so and it was a sad life.

        Like

Leave a Reply

