Uncategorized

Week in review Feb 7

Another weekend, almost gone.  And tomorrow begins the second week of February – the year seems to be going by at warp speed.  It’s good to stop and do these weekly reviews to savor what has been going on in my life.

First, our house went on the market on Monday.  We fell in love with a house a few blocks away and decided we needed a change.  I didn’t realize how stressful putting your house on the market can be.  Although I must say, our house has never looked so clean and organized!  My half-marathon training plan has been all over the place as sometimes I miss my workouts because we end up having showings of the house.  I did manage to get in a 7-mile run yesterday OUTDOORS, which was awesome!  The snow has melted here and the sun was shining, so I took advantage and did my longest run since training for a marathon last spring.

12647246_10208863424690836_4493338264996299964_n

I attended my first caucus on Monday.  I went to the Democratic caucus and showed my support for Bernie Sanders.  Kayla went with me and we really enjoyed the experience.  I think what struck me most about the whole experience was the diversity of supporters who showed up – whites, Hispanics, young people and old.  Our community has a large population of Hispanics and it was great to see them involved in the political process.

I finished reading How Not to Die by Dr. Michael Gregor. and I can’t recommend this book enough to EVERYONE.  This is not just another book preaching a vegan diet.  Dr. Gregor does believe that eating plant-based is the healthiest way to eat, but he doesn’t get into the ethics of eating.  Instead, he backs his claims of how a plant-based diet can prevent most of the diseases that people are plagued with, such as heart disease, diabetes, and many forms of cancer, with scientific evidence.  Science?  Boring.  I assure you it’s not.  Dr. Gregor has a great way of explaining things in simple terms, and he has a great sense of humor.  I love his writing style and if you’ve never seen him in interviews, Google him and watch him.  This book is going to be my #1 nutrition reference book, and after following his “Daily Dozen” diet for a couple of weeks, I’ve lost 3 pounds and I feel really great.  The Daily Dozen basically consists of servings of beans, nuts,greens, vegetables, fruits, flax seed, berries, etc.  Following the Daily Dozen really helps you focus on what you’re eating and by the time you get everything into your diet each day, it’s a LOT of food and you don’t feel hungry or deprived.

Finally, the big news this week was Ben & Jerry’s announcement that they now have non-dairy options for ice cream.  I’m so excited!  Non-diary options for ice cream have been, in my experience, a bit lackluster, so it was awesome to see that Ben & Jerry’s didn’t pull any stops with the new flavors!  I can’t wait to try them!  Unfortunately, none of our local stores carry them yet, but you’d best believe I’ll be first in line to buy them when they do!

Despite what I thought was exciting news, there are vegans who are not so happy.  They feel that Ben & Jerry’s still exploits cows and that there are ingredients in the ice cream that aren’t healthy, yada yada yada.  Look, we should be applauding the progress that’s being done. More and more companies are starting to provide vegan products, but as a vegan community, should we be bashing them because they still continue to produce non-vegan products?  In my humble opinion, NO.  Progress, not perfection, is my motto.  I’m an imperfect vegan, so who the hell am I to be passing judgment?  I think that this article states it best:

http://www.thehopefulherbivore.com/2014/06/not-vegan-enough.html?m=1

“In sum, unless every cookie you’ve eaten in the last year was homemade by your vegan grandmother, and every ingredient was grown by a vegan on a local organic farm, and delivered by a vegan on a bicycle.. we really shouldn’t be pointing fingers at each other. Or for that matter, the smart phone you’re likely reading this on better have been made by a group of monks, comprised of all recycled goods, shipped to you with carbon offset vouchers, and a rainbow. Because the reality is that for nearly everything we consume, we’re putting money into CEOs and corporations that don’t share our values, even if the product itself does. So, we should be focused on what we can do. And that’s being approachable to ‘outsiders.’ To showing them that being vegan is relatively simple and delicious. That they don’t have to give up everything they ever loved. We’ll win a lot more hearts and minds with that approach.” – The Hopeful Herbivore

The simple truth is that the militant approach doesn’t work.  It turns people off and you’re not helping the cause by being that way.  It also makes us vegans who aren’t that way second guess ourselves; that’s we’re not vegan enough and that we’re not doing enough.  But every little act that we do helps.  Small acts add up to big ones.  Let’s stop with the judging and bashing and show each support.  That’s how change comes about: through love, support, and positivity.

On that note, enjoy your Sunday!  I plan on enjoying some not-so-healthy vegan Super Bowl food and watching football.  Go Broncos!

 

7 thoughts on “Week in review Feb 7

  1. Yay for 7 miles outside! Yay for house! The caucus sounds like an interesting experience. Good job on losing some pounds. I agree. That being preachy does turn people off.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice outdoor run! I actually did seven miles outdoors last weekend, too—it was such a refreshing change from plodding away on the treadmill. And those Ben & Jerry’s ice creams are delicious. We got some samples here at work, so I was able to taste them ahead of time.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great week my dear! I’m going to read the book, 3 weeks ago I’ve started studying for my Plant Based Nutrition Certificate , it was my special Christmas gift after the horrible period I went through, and now I’m on course two ( of three) and it’s just great. Knowledge is so powerful!gonna buy that book asap, so happy you recommend it! That’s the only way to inform people ( if they want to listen) ! Have a lovely week end then!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We’re twins! I absolutely loved How Not to Die, and Dr. Greger is my hero! And I’m feeling the Bern, especially after learning he was the only candidate given a 100% rating by the Humane Society of the US! I’ve been stalking your blog for awhile, and thoroughly enjoy it! Can’t wait to try Ben and Jerry’s – I’m actually glad my small town doesn’t have Soy Delicious Peanut Butter Zig Zag in the local stores, or I’d weigh 500 pounds by now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

