running · Uncategorized

Taking a blogging break

I originally started this blog as part of a class I was taking on web design.  I thought it would be fun to talk about being a vegan, my running journey, and just my life in general, which included a lot of nerdy things, like books, movies, and Netflix binges.

But the more I blogged about eating healthy and running, the more I wanted to help others get healthy.  I had hoped that my blog posts would inspire others to get healthy.  I’m not really sure if I’ve accomplished that or not.  Through blogging, though, I have met other runners and vegans who have become really good friends, and for that I will be forever grateful.

However, it wasn’t until I started blogging about my daughter’s cancer that I started getting more views and more readers.  Blogging throughout my daughter’s cancer was very therapeutic for me.  It’s hard for me to open up and talk about my feelings and so writing has been really helpful for me.

My daughter is now cancer-free and my writing has gone back to focusing on exercise and healthy eating.  Once again, my readership has gone down significantly.

That bothers me, and it bothers me that I’m bothered by that.  I need to ask myself why I’m really writing this blog.  I know that I’m doing it for me, but let’s be honest: everyone who writes a blog wants people to read it, right?  You hope that by writing about things that you’re inspiring others; that you’re making the world a better place in some small way.

So….I’m not really sure what I’m accomplishing with this blog at the moment.  I’ve thought about giving it a new look, but really I think I need to just do some self-exploration and figure out what direction I want to take my blogging or even if I want to continue doing it.

I’ll continue to post on Facebook and Instagram as I continue my healthy life journey.  I have so much more to learn, so much more to figure out what works and what doesn’t work.  I’ve come a long way since going vegan almost six years ago, but I have a LONG way to go yet.  I still have my struggles and I still fall off the healthy wagon too much.  It’s time to get my ass in gear and get serious.  Figure things out.

I hope to be back, healthier than ever.  Literally running my ass off.  A new blog design in place.  Or not.  Who knows?  But for now?

Less writing.  More doing.

2 thoughts on “Taking a blogging break

Leave a Reply

