cancer · mixed germ cell tumor · ovarian cancer · running · Uncategorized

I woke up today and smiled.

I woke up today and smiled.  My baby is free of cancer.  I started laughing and then I cried tears of joy.

This has been my life over the last 23 hours.  Yesterday morning our family woke up very early to check in at Radiology at 7:00 a.m. for Kayla’s CT scan.  Joining us were my best friend and our daughters’ boyfriends.  The CT went smoothly.  Normally Kayla will vomit after receiving the IV contrast fluid, but she lucked out and got a radiology tech who knew a trick to hold off the nausea.  Then we headed to the lab so that Kayla could get her blood drawn.  Then we checked in to the oncologist’s clinic and waited.

And waited……

It wasn’t Dr. Goodheart’s fault.  He was waiting on the CT to be read by the radiologist and I think he was just as anxious to see the results as we were.  Finally, he opened the door to the exam room and immediately gave us the thumbs-up.  Things look great!  Her blood work is totally normal.  The CT scan is clean.  KAYLA IS CANCER FREE!  We all started crying tears of joy and relief.  Oh my God, our prayers have been answered!  Kayla is well!

Kayla will have to go back every three months for follow-up for the next two years.  It is comforting that Dr. Goodheart is keeping a close eye on her.  And I don’t think our worry will ever completely go away.  There will always be the fear that the cancer could come back.

But for now – NO CANCER!  Our family can go back to normal living.  We can enjoy our Christmas.  Kayla’s health is back to normal and her hair is starting to grow back.  We no longer have that dark cloud hanging over our heads that kept us from fully enjoying anything and prevented us from thinking about anything in the future.

So what does that mean?  What happens now?  At the moment, I’m still overwhelmed with emotions.  These last five months have been hell.  I think our family and close friends feel like we’ve been through the wringer and last night we were just simply exhausted.  Today I woke up feeling like I’m walking on clouds and I’m not really sure how long it will take to come back down and feel like normal again.

But for now?  Joy.  I feel pure joy.  I can’t stop smiling.  I can’t stop crying.  I want to shout from the rooftop!

Thank you to everyone who have been praying for Kayla and sending well wishes!  Thank you to everyone for your love and support!  Although we had to go through this horrible nightmare, we were given the power of love and support from our family and friends to give us the strength to get through this.  I can’t say thank you enough times.

At some point, I’d like to sit and have a heart-to-heart interview with each of my family members and ask them about this whole experience and write about it in a future blog post.  And then I’d like to return to my normal blogging of running and vegan food.  Yes, my readership will decrease significantly once I go back to the usual topics of healthy living, but it’s okay.  It’s who I am, it’s what I’m passionate about.  I lost that passion over the last several months because my focus was on Kayla, as it should be, but now I can go back to taking care of myself, setting new fitness goals, and hopefully influencing others to do the same.

Courage for Kayla, now and always!

8 thoughts on “I woke up today and smiled.

  1. I’m so happy for you all. I pray that the cancer stays far away from your lovely daughter and your family can get back to normal. I wish you all a blessed and rejoicing Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t express how happy I am for you, your family and Kayla of course. It will be a pleasure to read about your healthy exercise 🙂 trust me. My father is living his very last days that’s why I immediately felt a bond with you, I was and still am going through the same things, I’m so relieved your outcome is so different from mine. Have the best Christmas ever please, with all my love

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

