Uncategorized

Yoga….namaste.

I recently started doing yoga in the mornings.  I’ve tried yoga in the past, but I didn’t like it.  I found most of the moves difficult to do and it just wasn’t something I was excited about doing.  Last week I was digging through some of my old workout DVDs, trying to find a short workout that I can do in the mornings and I found an old Rodney Yee Yoga DVD.  The DVD includes two morning yoga workouts, both around 20-25 minutes long, and I thought I’d give them a try.

Like before, many of the moves are difficult and I’m sure if someone were to walk in on me and see me doing this stuff, he/she would get quite a laugh!  However, I’m hooked.  Stretching, breathing, meditating….these things are really helping me get energized in the morning and I feel grounded as I get ready to start my day.  My focus at work has been a bit better and as I run across situations throughout my day that would normally stress me out, I find myself asking “What would Rodney Yee do?”  Rodney Yee would drop down into downward dog and say “Chill homie.  You need to let that shit go.  Namaste.”  My new mantra.

Yesterday was Saturday and it’s my day for grocery shopping, cleaning, laundry, etc.  It was a really nice fall day with the sun shining and temps around 50 degrees.  I don’t normally work out on Saturdays because it’s a busy day.  However, around 3:00, I decided that I needed to take advantage of the weather and go for a run.  I had gone out for Mexican food earlier for lunch with friends and I wasn’t sure how that would affect my run, but I was able to get in 3 miles with no problem.

12208639_10208253412600915_8437943310937505659_n

Later, my husband and I took our neighbors out for dinner.  This couple took care of our dogs during all of those days we spent in the hospital with Kayla.  I don’t know what we would have done without them!  We just can’t thank them enough, but we thought we’d start by taking them out for dinner and drinks.  We had a really nice time.  I had a wonderful beet salad for dinner.  I took a photo, but the lighting in the restaurant resulted in a poor photo.  I promise you, though, it was gorgeous and delicious!

12190871_10208254173499937_7075728169827939511_n

Things are finally starting to feel normal again.  Kayla had a really good week and we felt like we could focus on something else other than her illness.

Courage for Kayla!

Namaste, peeps!

One thought on “Yoga….namaste.

Leave a Reply

