Uncategorized

Chemotherapy

Home sweet home!  I love my bed so much! ❤  Kayla is home after spending five days as an inpatient in the hospital for her chemotherapy infusions.  Week 1 of her chemotherapy cycles requires a 5-day inpatient stay and it’s not fun.  The medical staff is awesome as a whole, but nurses get busy. Kayla doesn’t always get her nausea medicine on time.  Rest is hit and miss and a hospital bed is not as comfortable as the bed at home.  When this is all said and done, I’d love to be able to set one of those hospital recliners on fire – GOOD RIDDANCE, you torturous device of horrible rest and back pain!

The last several weeks have been a struggle for me.  Watching Kayla battle nausea, seeing her lose her hair…it’s hard for me to wrap my brain around this whole idea that medicine toxic enough to make a person sick and lose their hair is supposed to cure her….how can this possibly be good?  And all of the pills….so many pills.  How can this possibly be good for her?  As someone who believes that food can act as medicine, that the more natural food one eats, the healthier they are, I can tell you that I’ve had a constant debate in my dead about what’s good for Kayla.

I’ve chosen to have faith in her doctors.  It’s tough.  Faith is a hard thing for me.  I like to be in control.

My faith, Kayla’s faith, and our family’s faith seems to be paying off.  This week we found out that Kayla’s tumor marker level, which indicates cancerous cells in her blood, has gone down significantly.  The chemotherapy is working.  We all cried when we heard the news.  This toxic shit that they are putting into her body really is making her better somehow.

Part of me is still skeptical.  I can’t help it.  It’s in my nature.  Part of me keeps thinking, “Can this really be possible?”  I still want to put Kayla on a juice/plant-based diet, but this isn’t my war and I can’t fight it for her.  All I can do is keep the house full of healthy options; keep her comfortable as possible.  Support her and love her.

And continue to have faith.  Faith in the doctors, nurses, chemotherapy, and pills.  Most importantly, I continue to have faith in the power of prayer and positive thoughts.

Courage for Kayla!

2 thoughts on “Chemotherapy

Leave a Reply

