Uncategorized

Stage III-C

Kayla’s cancer is at Stage III-C.

I haven’t allowed myself to do any research on Kayla’s cancer, so this stage didn’t really mean much to me when the doctor went over Kayla’s pathology results yesterday.  Apparently, it’s one step away from Stage IV, which is the highest stage of cancer.  It requires immediate chemotherapy.

During the three weeks between Kayla’s first and second surgeries, a tumor grew to 7cm in diameter.  This disease is progressing quickly, so we need to kick it in the ass right now.

Chemotherapy will consist of three 3-week cycles, so we just have to get Kayla through these next 9 weeks…..

The first five days of each cycle will require an inpatient stay in the hospital.  Kayla and I, along with her sister, are planning a book club.  We’re also deciding what Netflix marathons we want to do.  I’m planning healthy meals and snacks that I can pack and take with me each day.

Plan…organize….plan…organize.  These actions keep me grounded and sane.

And yet.  Part of me feels a bit panicky.  I go back and forth between feeling strong, positive, and optimistic to wanting to cry and scream.  I have a knot in my stomach that seems to have taken up permanent residence.  This disease that Kayla has is completely out of my control.  I don’t know how to fix it.  I don’t know what to expect over the next several months.

Once again, we keep going back to something Kayla said when we first received her diagnosis:  The doctor didn’t say she was dying.  Yesterday he didn’t tell us she is dying.

So we have faith.  We have faith in her doctor.  We have faith in God.  Kayla will be okay.

Now that we have a chemotherapy schedule in place, another reality has set in.  Time off work.  Days without pay.  Medical bills.  My cousin set up a GoFundMe account for Kayla’s medical expenses last night.  He set it up because he says we’re going to need it, but he knew that I would be too proud to set it up myself.  He’s right.  It feels weird asking people for money.  We’re still humbled that people bring us food and send cards and well wishes.  We’re supposed to ask them for money, too?

So here goes.  Deep breath, swallow the pride.  Here is the link to Kayla’s GoFundMe:

Medical Fund for Kayla

Regardless, we’ll get through this.  No matter what it takes, no matter what it costs, we’re going to get Kayla through this.  She will be cured.  She will be able to move on with her life.  Finish college.  Be a successful career woman.  Get married.  Have a family.  Live a long, happy, healthy life.

COURAGE FOR KAYLA!

11 thoughts on “Stage III-C

  1. You are doing all you possibly can. I’m sure she will come through this and life a long and happy life. You are all in my thoughts at this time. Super Big Hugs!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I try to read all your updates on Kayla and I think of your family daily. I’m sure you guys hear to stay strong all the time, I want to tell you that it is okay to break down sometimes. Cancer doesn’t come with a manuel that tells you how you are supposed to react to news or what will happen. As long as you guys can be there to support Kayla when she needs you the most (the moments that no one else csn be there for her but her kom, dad and sister- then your friends, family and community will be there to support you all. Hugs to you guys. ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Call the lady I told you about with the insurance. Let me know if you need her phone number again. It’s a one day at a time for a while. I am thankful someone set up this go fund me! Very thoughtful and yes pride needs to be set aside. There are so many of us that just want to help in any way we can. Also I still want to cook a meal for you guys. You pick when and I will make it work. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

