Uncategorized

Home sweet home

Kayla was discharged from the hospital yesterday!  Hooray!  She is now resting comfortably in her own bed and the two of us got the best night of sleep last night that we’ve had in quite a while.  Her incision site is still very sore, but she is otherwise doing well.

We both just got up after sleeping all afternoon.  I can’t even remember the last time I took a long nap like that.  I guess my body needed it.  I really wanted to clean the house today and do some laundry, but my body needed a nap and I listened.  So glad I did.  I feel 100 times better.

The cards and gifts keep rolling in.  We are truly humbled by all of the love and support we are getting.  However, we have been receiving a lot of baked goods.  While these things are appreciated and are absolutely delicious, they are things that our family should not be eating on a regular basis.  Kayla needs to eat a diet loaded with nutrients in order to boost up her immunity and aid with healing.  David and I need to eat this way, also, in order to keep us healthy and strong in the months to come.

I went back and forth about posting something on Facebook.  I didn’t want to insult people or hurt people’s feelings because we appreciate them thinking of us and wanting to help.  However, I decided that Kayla’s health is more important than anything else right now and so I posted something today on Facebook, requesting that if people wanted to bring us food, to please try and make it healthy.  The response I’ve received has been really positive.

We meet with Kayla’s doctor on Thursday to go over her chemotherapy treatment plan.  Preliminary discussions indicate an aggressive treatment that will involve several 5-day inpatient infusions.  She will lose her hair.  They would like to start the treatments soon, within the next couple of weeks.  I haven’t allowed myself to think too much about it yet.  I just want to enjoy the fact that Kayla is home and finally recovering from her surgery.  I want to enjoy a normal life as much as we can, even though it will only be for a short time.

We will get through this somehow.  We have so many people praying and pulling for Kayla that I have no doubt she will come out of this cured of cancer.  It will be a rough road, though.  Surgery was hard enough; I can’t even begin to imagine how hard the chemotherapy treatments will be. Regardless, we will dig deep and get to the finish line.

Thank you once again for all of you who have prayed, sent well wishes, took the time to reach out and say, “What can I do to help?” “What do you need?”, stopped by to visit, sent cards and gifts.  Words can’t even begin to express how much we appreciate everything you’re doing to help support Kayla.  God bless all of you!

4 thoughts on “Home sweet home

  1. I’m so glad Kayla is home and doing well. The sooner you get past the chemo, the sooner she’ll be in remission. Big hugs and healing vibes headed your way!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

