Uncategorized

Day 4 of More Fruits and Veggies

It’s been four days of eating LOTS of fruits and veggies, y’all.

I’ve gone through a 2-lb bag of organic baby carrots, 3 containers of salad greens, 8 bananas, 3 pears, one yellow tomato, about a pound of strawberries, a green pepper, a yellow pepper, a red pepper, and almost a whole bag of those cute little baby bell peppers….

That’s just the raw stuff!  I’ve also been eating lots of cooked veggies for dinner.  For Monday, I had leftover roasted veggies (mushroom, zucchini, carrots, and peppers) with a creamy tomato pasta.  On Tuesday, I made a burrito bowl with squash, cauliflower, broccoli, and carrots, refried beans, and Daiya cheddar cheese.  Last night, I made this awesome leek and potato soup with added celery, mushrooms, and carrots.

I feel like I’m eating a TON of food.  I’m eating a small meal about every 2 hours, and I feel full, but not stuffed.  I don’t feel hungry or have cravings for anything.  I have energy to do my workouts after work at night.

I haven’t had any tummy issues (bloating, gas, constipation), which I have to tell you I was a bit worried I might have with the increased intake of fruits and vegetables.  But things are moving smoothly, so to speak.  (Sorry, is that TMI??)

I think I’m liking this way of eating so far.  It’s pretty simple.  It just takes a bit of prepping.

Breakfast is usually granola with blueberries and sliced banana with unsweetened almond milk, or a banana with peanut butter and a side of strawberries, or a smoothie made with greens, fruit, protein powder and unsweetened almond milk.

Mid-morning snack will be a piece of fruit. Then I have some raw veggies, like carrots and sliced bell peppers later in the morning.

Lunch will be a HUGE salad made with mixed greens, a cup of white beans, and a homemade salad dressing. Today I made a dressing out of balsamic vinegar, stoned ground mustard and maple syrup (about a tablespoon of each – so simple!)

I’ll have a couple of more snacks in the afternoon, consisting of a banana or other fruit, and then some nuts or seeds. One of today’s afternoon snacks was a small bowl of the leftover soup from last night.

The weekends might be a bit more challenging, as it might be harder to eat smaller, more frequent meals because I’m usually busy, but I think that with time it will get much easier!

plantstrong

 

One thought on “Day 4 of More Fruits and Veggies

Leave a Reply

