Uncategorized

Eating healthier

Over the last several days, I’ve been focusing a lot on my diet.  I’ve decided to incorporate a lot more fruits and veggies into my diet, particularly raw vegetables like salads.  Although it’s only been a few days, I’ve felt really good about the way I’m eating.

I’ve started asking myself some important questions before I eat something:

1.  Does this come from an animal?  If the answer is yes, there’s no debate for me.  I just won’t eat it.  If the answer is no, I have some more questions to answer before I stick that food in my mouth.

2.  Is this going to benefit my body in any way?  In other words, does it have lots of good nutrients that will help nourish my body?  If the answer is yes, then get in my belly!  If the answer is no, then I have some things to consider.

3.  Is this what I would consider a “treat”?  For instance, over the weekend, my daughter baked my husband a lemon cake for Father’s Day.  It’s vegan, but it’s definitely not nourishing.  However, because I don’t get the opportunity to eat vegan desserts very often, I ate a couple of pieces over the last couple of days.  I didn’t feel any guilt whatsoever.  This is not something I eat every day.  The cake is gone now, and we probably won’t be baking another one anytime soon.  However, eating french fries or other fried foods, along with drinking several beers every weekend is not a treat.  It’s an unhealthy habit that I’m working on breaking.  Indulging in these things is not doing my body any favors.  I don’t plan on giving these things up entirely, but these are things that should just be occasional treats.

Other than question #1, I don’t always ask myself these questions before I eat something, but I’m working on it.

In the meantime, I will try to weed out more processed and fried stuff.  I will make my daily meals look more like this, which was a lot of what I ate yesterday:

Lunch

A salad with greens, white beans, and a citrus ginger carrot dressing; sauteed veggies leftover from breakfast the day before; strawberries, banana, pear, and raw carrots and grape tomatoes.  I felt like I was eating all day long!  I didn’t feel hungry and I had energy to work out when I got home from work.

My only fear:  I don’t think I bought enough fruits and veggies to last me the rest of the week!!  I might have to go to the grocery store soon to buy more!

That’s a good problem to have, though, right?  😉

 

 

2 thoughts on “Eating healthier

  1. I’m not vegan, but I try to stay away from processed foods . . . still, treats are hard to give up. For me, it’s the sweet tooth. I do shop several times a week – fresh food doesn’t stay good as long as processed stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

