Uncategorized

Post-marathon goals

Only 3 more days until my marathon and to say that I’m excited for Sunday would be a HUGE understatement!  I’m so ready for this thing!!!  Let’s get ‘er done!!!!!

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about what will happen after my marathon on Sunday.  I’ve been training so hard over the last several months.  What will I do after Sunday?  I don’t have another big race until the end of September (a half-marathon in Milwaukee).

Last fall after I completed my first half-marathon, I ended up gaining 8 pounds because I wasn’t training for anything over the fall and winter.  Guess how many of those pounds I lost during marathon training?  2.  Two measley pounds.  Now don’t get me wrong; I’m in much better shape at the end of this marathon training than I was when I started, but I’m definitely not any lighter.

Boo.  😦

And I wouldn’t say that I’m an overweight person, but I really feel like I would benefit from being a few pounds lighter.  So my goal to work towards after my marathon will be to continue to work on my fitness through PiYO workouts and running, but I’m also going to overhaul my diet.  I eat healthy for the most part, but I overeat high-calorie foods that I shouldn’t (avocado, processed faux “meats”, peanut butter, bread, pasta, etc.)  I’d really like to replace these high-calorie foods with more raw and cooked veggies and fruits.  I’m going to eat more salads and drink more water and eat less pub food and drink less beer.

I think that I will get a lot of benefits from doing this:

1.  I hope to lose some weight.  Ten pounds would be my goal, but 15 would be epic.

2.  My stomach issues will improve even more.  Before I went vegan and started exercising regularly, my digestive system was all over the place.  It was something that I suffered from for years, but it has gotten much better.  It could get even better, though.  Whenever I eat greasy, fried foods, or drink one too many beers, my stomach suffers.  Why do I put myself through that?

3.  My hope is that my fitness will improve because of my diet.  Right now, my recovery from workouts, even really long runs, is pretty good, but as many of you know I’m a really, really slow runner.  Perhaps getting a bit lighter and eating healthier will help me improve my speed and endurance, in addition to strength.

Unfortunately, I’ve never been good at tracking my food and calories.  I can barely keep a training journal (or a blog!) updated.  So whatever I do has to involve being able to eat whatever and not worry about how much of it I’m eating.  I think the key is to eat the right foods if I want this plan to be successful.

I’ve got several months before my half-marathon to do this and if I’m successful, it will be interesting to see how it affects the race.  If I lose the weight, will I PR the half-marathon?  Will I feel like my performance is better?

Stay tuned….

8 thoughts on “Post-marathon goals

  1. All the best for the marathon on Sunday. I know you’ll do well.
    I don’t get it why we put in the miles and still pack on the pounds. I know I overeat the bad foods but they’re so delicious and I can usually justify that I am going to run tomorrow so I can’t eat what I want.
    I am currently on day 3 of a 90 day plan to overhaul my diet and just treat myself better in general. I’ll be sharing details soon too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s exactly why I gained weight after my half-marathon training. I continued to eat like I was training, even though I wasn’t. I still continue to overeat during training as well. Not only do I feel like I deserve the food for working so hard, but I have a continuous hunger that seems to come with training. I think it’s because I’m just not eating the right foods. I’m going to work on that. Can’t wait to hear the details with your plan.

      And thanks for the well wishes for Sunday!

      Like

    1. Thanks, Natalie! I’m not a believer in restrictive diets and feeling deprived. I like to eat too much! LOL It’s just a matter of finding the right foods to keep me fueled, satisfied, and at a healthier weight!

      Like

  2. Have a GREAT race!!!!!

    Those are excellent goals. I’m shooting for a(nother) marathon in November.

    I just got an email update from the RD and they are definitely closing the course early – 5 hour time limit now 😦 And they won’t even let you back out after the first 1/2 if you don’t make the new (undisclosed) 1/2 cut-off time. All they say is it will be less than 2 1/2 hours. I’m getting very discouraged…

    Like

    1. Although I understand why the RD is doing that, it still sucks for all of the first-time marathoners. So much pressure to go faster than what you’ve trained for, which I think is dangerous in high temps. If anything, everyone should be slowing it down. But whatever. It is what it is. Just do your best. Even if they close the course early, FINISH. That’s what I would do. I mean, that’s been our goal from the beginning for our first marathon: FINISH.

      I will wait and see how this marathon goes before I think about doing another, but if I do another one, I want it to be a big one with lots of other runners, spectators, and fanfare! Maybe the Chicago Marathon next year??? 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I wonder if everyone is different. But after my first marathon this past October, the next day I couldn’t stop thinking about running again. That is so totally different than what I expected. A few days later, I ran 3 miles. I ran again the next day. I became more obsessed about running. Some people don’t want to run again for a long time. I think you are so much more ready than I was. I was so euphoric the night after my marathon, I think about it even now. I was showered and in pajamas with my legs propped up on pillows watching TV like I was on drugs. I could barely walk and had to do that crab walk downstairs..but I never felt as good. I was barely sore the next day after a good roll of the muscles and a good night sleep. Make sure you hubby rolls your muscles that night. 🙂

    Like

    1. I don’t want to stop running; I just want to keep getting better! I don’t think I’ve ever been this passionate about anything in my life! It’s so crazy! It still seems so surreal that I’m actually doing a marathon. My family is just excited as me! My husband got the course map out last night and was making plans about where everyone would meet me on the course to give me encouragement or whatever I need. I don’t think I could do this without them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

