Uncategorized

Happy Veganniversary to Me!

Happy Vegan

I’ve been so preoccupied with marathon training that I totally let my 5th year veganniversary go by without notice.  Doh!  As of March 27th, I’ve been vegan for 5 years.

These have been the best 5 years of my life.  Physically and mentally, things don’t get any better than this.

I’m not perfect and there is always room for improvement, but I’m continuing to evolve.  I’m one less person eating animals.  I’m one less person buying products that are tested on animals.  I’m one less person buying leather.  I may not change the world in a dramatic way, but I’m doing it in a small way, and every action matters.

I see progress every day.  Meatless Mondays, more consumption of non-dairy milks, more concern for animal welfare, more people adopting a more plant-based diet.  Change is happening and I can say I have a part in it.

If you don’t think anything you do makes a difference, I challenge you to think differently.  Don’t think you can give up eating meat?  Try having Meatless Mondays.  Don’t think you can give up drinking milk?  Try soy, almond, or coconut milk.  Not only do they have less fat and calories, but you CAN get your calcium drinking this stuff.  Don’t think you can give up cheese?  Try substituting avocado, or a cashew cream sauce, or try one of the many cheese substitutes that are currently in the market (my favorite is Daiya).  You don’t have to do it all at once.  Try it one day a week, or one meal a week.  Gradually incorporate more plant-based meals into your diet.

Your body will thank you, and most importantly, so will the animals.  🙂

VeganPic

10 thoughts on “Happy Veganniversary to Me!

  1. Hearty Congratulations! It really feels good, doesn’t it? Those five years must have made a huge difference in your life. I’ve been vegan for just over a year and my only regret is that I didn’t do this years ago! Well done, and keep spreading the word, right! Kat

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! I started out eating as a vegetarian and have tried to use products that aren’t tested on animals for quite a while. Then after reading about the horrors of dairy and egg production, I decided to stop eating those things as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. yes, we started out as vegetarians as well (since the mid 90’s). Looking back on it now, I wonder why it took us so long to go vegan! Although it was very rare and hardly mentioned in those days.
        Glad times are changing!

        Like

  2. Whoohoohoohoo!

    Well done.

    Now, just be sure you are eating NON-GMO as well to make sure you are feeding your body real vegan food, and not chemicals. I always look for either the US Organic seal or NON-GMO certified to make sure I’m eating the real deal.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I haven’t had the cashew milk yet. I need to try it! My youngest daughter, who is 19, is considering going vegetarian. She’s been learning about meat and dairy production in her environmental science class and meat doesn’t sound so appetizing to her right now. She has already cut most of the dairy out of her diet because she is lactose intolerant. My oldest daughter has also been a vegetarian off and on. Maybe they’ll end up being vegan like their mom! I hope so, anyway, but I don’t push or pressure them. It’s a personal decision. I just know it’s a great way for me to live and I feel so much better.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

