Uncategorized

Marathon Training Week 7

Hello!  How was everyone’s week?  Mine was great!  Even though I didn’t get the promotion at work that I wanted, I still got a raise, so that was nice!  I also registered for a research administrator’s meeting next month in Chicago, so I’m looking forward to that!  What am I most excited about?  Running along Lake Michigan!  And of course, all of the new things I’ll learn at the conference!

Speaking of running, marathon training continues to go well.  Here is how it went:

Monday: Cross training with a PiYO Sweat workout

Tuesday: 1:2 x 6 intervals, with a 5-minute warm-up and 5-minute cool-down to work on speed

Wednesday: 3-mile run which SUCKED.  It was cold and blustery outside and I just struggled the entire run.  Somehow I managed to find my mojo with about 1/2 mile left and so my time/pace doesn’t reflect how terrible the run was, but the lesson that I got out of the experience was that not every run is going to go well, even the shorter runs, but I can still find the mental strength to come out on top.

Thursday:  Rest day

Friday:  I took the day off of work and decided to get my long run done because my husband and I were going to a hockey game with friends Friday night and I didn’t want to have to worry about what I was eating or drinking, or not wanting to stay out late because I had a long run the next day.  On the schedule was a 14-mile run, my longest to date.

1654153_10206526020617195_6232697745013021386_n (2)

11083884_10206526020137183_7952015655306086790_n (2)

I did it!  And it didn’t suck!  Once again, I did 2:1 run/walk intervals for most of the run and it really worked out well.  Similar to my 12-mile run a couple of weeks ago, I seem to lose a bit of energy around miles 8 and 9, but then I get my second wind and finish strong!  Sips of Gatorade after each mile, and a Huma Chia Seed Energy Gel at every 45 minutes seem to be great fuel for me.  I don’t have belly issues using these things, so I’ll definitely be ordering more of the Huma gels.  I’ve loved all of the flavors so far, so I’ll order another variety pack.

I think the most exciting thing about the run was I felt like at the end of the run I could have run a bit longer, and so now that 16-mile run doesn’t sound so daunting, you know?  Realistically, I know that warmer days are ahead and things will be a lot different once I start running during hotter weather, but for now, I remain excited and optimistic about the training ahead!

Saturday was a short 1.5 mile walk/run with my husband and the dogs.  I plan on running 4.27 miles today to put me at 25 miles for the week.  Wow, that’s a record for me!

Have a wonderful Sunday and a great week!

4 thoughts on “Marathon Training Week 7

  1. Isn’t it weird that you can run 14, 15 miles with relatively no drama and a 3 mile run can almost bring you to tears! I’ve been there! I still feel that way sometimes on a short run. It seems you are progressing well with your training program. And that is a great thing that you felt like you could do a little more. I went on a training not logn ago to Chicago and loved my run along Lake Michigan! It was beautiful. You look happy and beautiful. I just hope you are not a Chicago Blackhawks fan…me being a St. Louis Blues fan! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

