Uncategorized

Half-marathon #3

I signed up to do this virtual half-marathon:

Ready for Summer Run 2015

I ran it yesterday.  After being sick for the last week or so, I wasn’t sure how well it was going to go.  Plus, I hadn’t run anything longer than 8 miles since October.  Physically, I just wasn’t sure if I was where I should be in order to do a half-marathon, but I paid my money, and I really wanted the medal, so I decided to do the best I could.

I woke up yesterday to -12 degrees temperature outside, so I ran on the treadmill.  I started out my run in my new shoes:

16512_10206307164065918_1732322143929883703_n

My first pair of Merrells!  They are Bare Access Ultras.  They felt really good for the first part of the run!  They are really lightweight and feel really fast.  However, they are minimalist shoes, so there isn’t a lot of cushion, so by mile 8, my calves were killing me, so I switched to my Glycerins, which have a lot of more cushion.

I also got to try out energy gels for the first time.  I bought Huma Chia Energy Gels and decided to try the Raspberry and Mango flavors for my run.  They’re quite good and they didn’t upset my stomach at all.  I’m not really sure if they helped, however.  By mile 9, I was POOPED.  My calves were on fire and I was really tired.  I ran the last 4 miles on fumes and sheer will.  I took the first gel after running for an hour, and the second one 45 minutes later.  I guess I need to play around with the times to see what works best for me.

I can’t tell you my official time, as the treadmill decided at 1 hour, 40 minutes to reset the time to 0:00 and at that point, I was close to 9 miles I think.  I don’t know what happened, but it took me an hour and 7 minutes to complete the rest of the run, for a final time of around 2 hours, 47 minutes.  Definitely not a PR, but it was better than I anticipated.

I feel really good today; no residual soreness and I feel well rested, so I’m really happy with how things went.  As soon as I finish this blog post, I’m going to run 2 miles and do a PiYO workout.

My left big toenail is another story.  I think it might be falling off.  The right big toenail doesn’t look pretty, either.  I did some research and it sounds like this is a normal occurrence for runners.  If anyone out there has any advice on anything I can do for this, please let me know.

Before I sign off, I just want to acknowledge the passing of a legend, Leonard Nimoy AKA Mr. Spock.  As a nerd, Star Trek has always been one of my favorite series, both on TV and the movie versions, so I’m very sad.  I think I’ll spend some time today watching some old Star Trek episodes on Netflix.  Live long and proper, my friends!

10959006_855543797815881_1583023889899294809_n

6 thoughts on “Half-marathon #3

  1. Woohoo! Congrats on completing another half!!

    The toenail situation could be a number of different factors, but from my experience (as I’ve lost a few myself) it seems that the longer I run the more my feet swell/expand and by the time I finish my shoes almost feel like they’re too small. So in my case it was from the toenail coming into constant contact with the front of the shoe during the last few miles of long runs.

    If that seems to be the problem, you could try sizing up 1/2 size. Unfortunately, that did not work for me because then the shoes are just too big from the get go. I can say that since I started doing long runs in the PureFlow 2s I stopped having that problem. Another reason I’m so upset they got discontinued.

    Like

  2. I always get 1/2 size bigger than my normal shoe size; I’m worried if I get a whole size bigger than normal, the shoes will be too loose! In fact, when I first put the Merrills on, even though there didn’t seem to be a lot of toe room, they still feel really loose. I think I might call the company and ask them what I should do….I ran two more miles in them today and my left toe is really, really sore around the toenail area. I may have to return them and try the bigger size, or maybe they’re just not the right shoes for me.

    Like

  3. I’m buying the cushy-est pair of running shoes I can find. None of that bare feel for me. I went to buy them on Saturday but was given wrong directions (well meaningly) by someone so wound up going home. You can always pad a shoe that is too large–that is my motto.

    We’ve got 1/4-inch of ice outside today here in Baltimore–will this winter EVER end?

    Like

    1. We are supposed to get some freezing rain overnight tonight, but then by Friday it’s supposed to start warming up to the 30’s! It’s been a long, hard winter, that’s for sure!

      Yep, I definitely need to find a pair of shoes with more cushion for the longer runs. I really hadn’t been having any problems with my toenails up to this point, so it could be the new shoes. However, it was also the longest run I have done in quite a while, so perhaps it was just too much mileage all at once for my poor toes. Oh well, toenails are overrated, right? 😉

      Like

  4. Good job sticking it out on the treadmill! That sounds positively miserable to me. lol I’ve never lost a toenail, but I have lots of friends who have. I keep my toenails really short, so I think that has a lot to do with it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

