Uncategorized

A challenging week

Late last week, I got sick with a head cold.  I can’t even tell you the last time I’ve been sick.  It’s been a while.  I attribute my healthy diet, running and managing stress to this immunity I’ve had.  I guess that even the most healthy of us can’t fight off all of the yucky viruses floating around, though.

I didn’t run last Thursday or Friday.  I couldn’t stand being inactive, so I went ahead and did a 6-mile run on Saturday, even though I still wasn’t feel well.  On Sunday, I was feeling horrible.  Coughing, stuffy and runny nose; just feeling run down.  I didn’t feel well enough on Monday or Tuesday, either, to run, but by yesterday, I was finally feeling well enough to attempt a 3-mile run.  It wasn’t pretty; it was a bit hard to breathe and my chest felt like it was on fire, but I got it done.  It felt really good to be active and sweating!

Today I’m feeling almost back to my old healthy self.  I plan on running tonight and then I’ll rest up tomorrow because on Saturday I signed up to do a virtual half-marathon.  I have no idea how that’s going to go, but I’m going to give it my best shot.  The longest run I’ve had so far this winter has been 8 miles.  It will have to be on the treadmill because we got about 4 inches of snow yesterday and we’re supposed to get more this weekend and I’m not the type of runner who will run outside in anything.  I don’t want to take a chance of slipping, falling, and injuring myself.  It’s just not worth it to me, so I will endure the treadmill boredom.

I’ve also had a hard time managing stress lately.  I think it’s mainly the weather.  It’s been a long, cold, snowy winter and not being outside in the warm air and sunshine is taking its toll, I think.

Professionally, things are not where I expected them to be.  A few months ago, I was approached about new job responsibilities, with a promise of a promotion to go along with it, and thus far, I’ve inherited the new job responsibilities, but no promotion.  It’s frustrating and while I know that I need to just breathe and have faith in the process, it’s tough.  I’ve worked hard my entire life and I thought that things were finally paying off for me; that I was on the right track for a new, exciting career path, but things are not working out that way.  I can’t help but feel disillusioned and disappointed.

But I know that these feelings I have right now are temporary.  Things will work out the way they are supposed to.  I will continue to work hard, learn, and grow, both with my running and with my career.  I am a warrior and I do not give up.  I fall, but I get back up!

However, some positive thoughts, love, and karma sent my way would be greatly appreciated!

Goal

4 thoughts on “A challenging week

  1. Glad to hear you’re on the mend! Sending positive thoughts your way, for sure! I’d be completely frustrated about that job situation as well. Especially since you’ve already taken on the extra responsibilities. Can you speak to someone in HR? Maybe it’s just an oversight?

    Like

    1. Unfortunately, the University’s HR policies make it difficult for people to get “promoted”. Otherwise, I would have been given the promotion on the spot. Instead, you have to fill out a lot of paperwork and it has to be reviewed by several committees. What’s frustrating is that another person who is going through the same process I am got her promotion and we are doing the exact same job! So something is messed up; we just have to figure it out. Our department HR is looking into it.

      Like

  2. I’m kinda going through the same thing work-wise. I’m waiting and waiting and waiting for the job I do to get posted so I can apply for it and become permanent. Everyone here is permanent except for me so it’s no biggie to them–just to me. I’m frustrated and angry today.

    I’ve been doing positive affirmations about my eating habits/exercise habits/body to keep myself as jacked up as I can be.

    I had to go outside at lunch or explode today. It was one of those days. Finally the snow is at least walkable if not melted. Being indoors plays on my emotions. Thank heavens any precip we are expecting this weekend won’t be snow–woohoo!!!

    This too shall pass, for the both of us. Spring begins on March 20th.

    Like

    1. I wish us both luck that things turn out well with our jobs. I think it will.

      On a positive note, I ordered some new running shoes and they arrived today, along with some energy gels and so I’ll get to try both out tomorrow when I run 13.1 miles! The week is ending well, my friend! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

