Uncategorized

Week 2 of Marathon Training

it-doesnt-have-to-be-pretty-detour

The week started off well, with a 3.5 mile run on Monday, speed work intervals on Tuesday, and another 3.5 mile run on Wednesday.  Then on Thursday, we were supposed to get our taxes done and so I decided to make Thursday my rest day for the week.  Thursday night, I didn’t feel well and by Friday, my head was stuffed up, I was coughing, and just pretty much felt like crap, so I didn’t do anything on Friday, either.

Saturday was supposed to be a 6.2 mile run and it was just killing me that I hadn’t done anything in a couple of days, even though I was still feeling crappy, so I decided to just get on the treadmill and do what I could do.  It was rough, but I managed to do the entire 6.2 miles.  Honestly, sweating it out really felt good, like I was sweating out all of the toxins in my body and I felt pretty good for most of the day after that.  By Saturday night, however, I was wore out and took some NyQuil in hopes of getting a good night’s sleep.

I slept pretty well, but woke myself up this morning with a huge coughing fit.  I feel pretty good; it’s just I have this annoying cough lingering.  Today is a cross-training day, so I plan on walking a couple of miles on the treadmill to warm the legs up, and then I’ll do PiYO.

I signed up for a virtual half-marathon and am planning on doing that next weekend.  I’m not even sure I’m ready, but I’m going to give it a shot.  I hope I’m feeling 100% by then and that the weather is nice enough to run outside.

On another note, my goal of reading a book a week has not gone well at all.  January went really well, but this month I’ve only read one book.  By the time I sit down at night, I’m too pooped to do anything, and the last few weekends have been really busy.  I really need to step it up if I want to get to the goal number of 52 books for this year!  I have the house to myself this afternoon, so I hope to take advantage of the peace and quiet and get some reading done!

funny-dog-reading

3 thoughts on “Week 2 of Marathon Training

  1. Good job on doing the 6.2 on the treadmill. I see people reading on the treadmills at the gym but I could never do that. You prefer reading to audio books I take it. I do too but I have put on an audio book for long runs outside. Maybe I should try it on the treadmill. I hope you start feeling better. Training for a marathon is like a second job and don’t pay! 🙂 I hope week 3 goes well. What training schedule are you following? And I’m sure I’ve asked but which marathon and when?

    Like

    1. I watch Netflix while on the treadmill; that seems to help pass the time. Otherwise, I prefer music when I’m running outside. I’ve tried listening to audiobooks, but it messes with my pace. I’m running a local marathon on June 14. It’s called the Marion Rotary Marathon for Shoes, which is a charity that provides shoe vouchers for underprivileged kids who can’t otherwise afford new shoes.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Netflix is good. Audio books aren’t that good to keep motivated. Last summer during marathon training, I did listen to entire phantom of the opera, cats and les mis and it actually helped on long runs. That is an awesome charity. You will feel extra special when you cross that finish line. 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

