Uncategorized

Highlights of the week: 2/9/15

Ah, Sunday, you are bittersweet.  You are the most relaxing day of the week, and yet your arrival means that Monday and a new work week are just a day away.

untitled (3)

It was another busy week!  I started marathon training!  My first week went like this:

Monday – 3-mile run

Tuesday – 1:2 intervals x 6 (run 1 minute as fast as you can, then run slow for two minutes; repeat 6 times, with a 5-minute warm up before and 5-minute cool down after)

Wednesday – It was supposed to be a 3-mile run.  I normally run after work, but I had something going on, so I got up early before work to get in a run.  I’m not a morning workout person and I only ended up running 2 miles because I stressed the entire time if I’d have enough time to get ready for work.  It felt better than I thought it would, though.  I started out a bit sluggish, but once I got going, it was fine.   I think I need to incorporate more early morning runs into my workouts, and hopefully this will get easier with time and routine.

Thursday – 3-mile tempo run

Friday – REST DAY

Saturday – 7-mile run

Wednesday night was monthly book group.  We discussed this book:

LeftNeglected

It was unanimous – we all loved this book.  It’s about a woman who seems to have it all – husband, 3 kids, successful career and although her life seems crazy, somehow she manages to juggle it all.  But one day, an accident leaves her with a condition called Left Neglected, in which someone is unable to see (although both eyes are fine) anything on the left side.  She has to rehabilitate herself to use her left extremities and view things on the left side.  It was a well-told story and I will be reading other things by this author!

I want to give a shout-out to my book group members.  It’s a great group of people and we have wonderful, funny discussions about books we’re reading and I look forward to this outing every month!

Friday night was Redbox movie night with the husband.  We watched this movie and loved it!

untitled (2)

Saturday was Valentine’s Day.  My husband and I had dinner at our new favorite restaurant, The Copper Penny.  Chef Robert once again prepared me some delicious vegan food:

Creamy tomato soup thickened with root vegetables instead of cream
Creamy tomato soup thickened with root vegetables instead of cream
Main entrée: ratatouille with eggplant, zucchini, tomatoes, onion, garlic, red pepper
Main entrée: ratatouille with eggplant, zucchini, tomatoes, onion, garlic, red pepper
10996362_10206212167211056_2245545423840726648_n
Dessert – sorbet made with cherries, lime and brandy
David's non-vegan dessert: red velvet cake.  So pretty!
David’s non-vegan dessert: red velvet cake. So pretty!

Everything was delicious and the service by the staff was excellent!

After dinner, we went to a local bar to watch one of our favorite bands, Cheese Pizza.  A band called Skin Kandy also performed, and they do some excellent covers of 80’s hair bands.  Our daughters and their boyfriends joined us, and we all had a great time!

How do I describe Cheese Pizza?  They are raunchy, crazy, unique…..but oh my, they are so much fun to watch! We didn’t get home until 1:30 a.m.!  Late night for us, but a great time!

Today is lazy day with pancakes and reading.  I do have to get in some cross-training for marathon training, so I’ll walk a couple of miles on the treadmill and do some PiYO.

What were the highlights of your week?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Highlights of the week: 2/9/15

  1. It looks like you had a great kick off to marathon training. It’s weird but usually the start of training is less than what level you may be at currently. Mine was like that but I just followed the program. It gets worse! haha I want to be a morning runner..I really do but I already get up at 4:45am to go to work! I have done is very few times. Your Valentine’s meal with your hunny looks delicious. David’s desserts looks incredible!

    Like

Leave a Reply

