Uncategorized

Healthy Burrito

Hello!  How many of you out there decide to throw together some stuff for a meal at the spur of the moment, not really sure how it will taste, but your belly is grumbling and telling you, “This will work, I promise”?

Last night, burritos were on the menu for dinner.  For the family’s version, I brown some ground turkey, throw in a can of vegetarian refried beans and some shredded cheese, heat through until the cheese is melted and then my family puts in however much filling they want in a flour tortilla.  For my version, I usually use soy crumbles instead of meat and Daiya (vegan) cheddar cheese for real cheese.

I decided last night that I wanted a healthier version.  I was majorly craving veggies, so I sauteed some frozen veggies (broccoli, red onion, red peppers, yellow squash and zucchini), threw in some spices like cumin, chili powder, and a Creole spice mix that I have, a bit of salt, a can of chickpeas, and about a cup of some leftover quinoa I had in the fridge.  Then I added some cilantro, squeezed half a lime over the whole thing and O……M…….G.

HealthyBurritoFilling

This stuff is crazy good!!  I kept eating it by the spoonful waiting for my husband to come home from work so that we could eat dinner.  I stuffed a couple of whole wheat tortillas, added a bit of guacamole and vegan sour cream and MMMM, MMMM GOOD.  My tastebuds were doing a happy dance!

Will definitely have to create an official “recipe” and share it.  But it seems like sometimes the yummiest things I make are made without a recipe.  I just throw stuff together that I think will taste good and somehow it turns out great.  Then, if I try to recreate it, it doesn’t always turn out the same.  Hmmm….

Anywho, I love that it’s already Wednesday and the week is just flying by!  I’ve been reading some really great books and really need to post some reviews on here.  I’ve also been battling some back pain the last couple of days, but it seems to be getting better.  Hopefully I can get in some good runs this week.

Have a great Hump Day!

HumpDay

2 thoughts on “Healthy Burrito

Leave a Reply

