Uncategorized

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!  I’m feeling a bit under the weather this morning, but it’s my own fault.  Too much celebrating last night with wine and food.  So much fun, though!

The evening started out with dinner with my husband, cousin and his wife at our new favorite restaurant, The Copper Penny.  The owners/chefs are always great about preparing vegan dishes for me.  Last night, the chef prepared carrot osso buco:

1622726_10205828658263572_2687411239777961811_n

Carrots with a parsnip “marrow”, onions, and mushrooms on a bed of pureed cauliflower.  It was much prettier when the dish was brought to me, but I started digging in before I remembered to take a photo! It was delicious!

Dessert was a mango and citrus gelato:

10387302_10205828658703583_1409545675924804345_n

Fruity, tangy, cool and refreshing!

After dinner, we went down the street to a bar for more drinks and then back to The Copper Penny to ring in the new year with even more drinks.

This morning as I wallow in my I’LL NEVER DRINK AGAIN stupor, I thought it would be the ideal time to talk about my resolutions for 2015.

1.  I want to read 52 books this year (a book a week).

2.  I want to run a marathon this year.

3.  I want to make meditation part of my daily routine.

2014 was such an awesome year that I can’t help but feel excited and optimistic about 2015!  How about you? What are your resolutions for 2015?

New-Year-funny-resolution-2014

9 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Happy New Year my friend! I’m doing the 2015 miles in 2015 challenge, the #writeandrun31 challenge for January, a half marathon in March or April, the full (gulp) marathon in June, and not sure about the rest of the year…

    I like the 52 book idea also, and I really want to start journaling/blogging more. Think I’m going to do a blog makeover today after my run. Stay tuned… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I need to find a half-marathon to do, too in March/April! I forgot to mention in the blog that I started doing PiYo and I really love it! My youngest daughter is doing it, also, and we took our “before” pics, along with measurements, so it will be awesome if we can see some results!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Carrot Osso Buco looks delicious! I showed it to my husband who is more of a vegan than I and he wants to make it! The gelato looks great too. Sorry for the hangover but sometimes we just have to do those things. I sat on the sofa with hubby and dogs watching Twilight Zone all night! I will be following your marathon training. My resolutions this year are very simple. Run at least 1 mile each day of 2105. Do another marathon toward the end of 2015. Eat healthy. Love family and dogs more. And live in the present more than I normally do. Happy New Year!

    Like

    1. I eat healthy most of the time; I just need to make those unhealthy times fewer and farther in between! And the amount of alcohol that I tend to consume when we go out with friends is a bit unnerving – I really do need to cut down! It’s not that I have a drinking problem, but the amount of calories that I consume….not good! Plus, I just don’t like how I feel the next day. Training for a race is what seems to keep me in check, so today I’m starting marathon training mindset!

      Happy New Year, Charlotte! You’ve been such an inspiration to me and I’m so glad to have met you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m reading more this year, too. I’ll be posting a book review to FB later today. I’m currently reading a book and have another ready for pick-up from the library. I really love reading books and they help me calm down at night so I can sleep better.

    I had a food hangover yesterday myself. So happy to be getting back on track and I’m excited about getting more home fitness equipment tomorrow at Target.

    Does “seducing Tom Hiddleston” count as a resolution? 🙂

    Like

    1. Seducing Tom Hiddleston sounds like a great resolution to me! Good luck! 🙂
      What kind of home fitness equipment are you getting?
      I really love PiYo so far! It’s the perfect cross-training workout for me!
      Happy New Year!

      Like

  4. I’m getting heavier hand weights, a jump rope, and something else I can’t remember. 🙂

    I’m also getting a professional massage tomorrow. Can’t wait!

    You should resolve for more massages in 2015–so worth it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

