Uncategorized

Staying on track during the holiday season

Man, I’ve missed blogging, but my life has been such a whirlwind lately!  I returned from a work-related trip to Houston a few days ago.  I attended a financial research administration workshop and I learned tons of great stuff!  It was the first time I’ve flown anywhere or gone anywhere without my husband or kids in over 20 years!  It was great to get away and focus on me and my new career as a research administrator!

While I managed to get in a 3-mile run on the treadmill at the hotel gym, and I found some vegetarian/vegan food to eat (Houston has some fantastic restaurants), I was still happy to come home and get back to my normal plant-based meals.

December has been a really busy month in general and workouts have been sporadic, as well as healthy eating.  I’ve focused my Christmas wish list on things that will help improve my health.  One of my gifts arrived early:

10846055_10205655996907146_1014081675855801330_n

It’s a pressure cooker, something that I’ve wanted for a quite a while!  I plan on cooking tons of quinoa, oatmeal, rice, beans and legumes in this baby!

I also ordered the PiYo workout DVDs.  I’ve been working out with Bob Harper’s DVDs, which are great, but I’ve gotten bored with them and I’m not really feeling like I’m getting any results, so I thought I would try something different.  After polling friends on Facebook, I decided on PiYo.

And yes, I order my own Christmas presents.  Here’s how Christmas (or any other occasion involving gifts) usually goes:

My husband: “What do you want for Christmas this year?”

Me:  “I want the Instant Pot and PiYo workout DVDs.  You can get them on Amazon.”

My husband: “Go ahead and order them.”

So I do and they arrive at my house and MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ME!

There’s no element of surprise, but at least I know what I’m getting what I want, right?

I just want to share something that I saw in this month’s issue of Runner’s World magazine:

1517384_10205656145270855_5838620646206559497_n

This 50-year-old woman is a former alcoholic and meth addict who started running in 1996 and since then has logged almost 80,000 miles and has run 220 ultramarathons.  Truly inspiring and it makes me want to put on my running shoes right now and run my ass off!   I also have this desire to go get another tattoo….hmmm…..

Speaking of running my ass off, my virtual running partner is putting together our marathon training program and yesterday she sent me a first draft:

10154275_10203023224409445_5670721225709250928_n

Part of me is so excited to start training; the other part is hyperventilating and screaming inside my head “WHAT THE F&*%?!? ARE YOU CRAZY?!?”

Shut up, voice in my head.  I got this.

4 thoughts on “Staying on track during the holiday season

  1. Marathon training? Yes, you are crazy! lol Which one did you choose to run? I’m excited to follow along with your training. The marathon is a piece of cake next to the training. I order my own Christmas gifts too! I also get what I want! 🙂

    Like

  2. I have the Instant Pot on my Amazon wish list. I put what I want the most at the top and I know that it’s just a matter of time before hubby will get it for me. For less expensive stuff I pretty much just buy it as I want it 😉

    I’m kinda bummed that our marathon training doesn’t start until February – I’m ready to get it going! Lol! Anyways, I did find a marathon the same weekend as yours, in Philly. It’s the 1/2 Sauer, 1/2 Kraut. It’s not recommended as a marathon for first-timers, but whatever!

    You also made me realize that I haven’t written on my blog in a LONG time either. Ugh.

    Like

    1. I made a big batch of quinoa in the Instant Pot today – super fast and easy! I can also make a black bean soup recipe in minutes! Can’t wait to try that!
      I’m waiting for my PiYo DVDs to arrive – that will keep me busy until marathon training! Is it crazy to say that I can’t wait? Because I think it might be a bit crazy! LOL

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

