Uncategorized

Running in the snow!

10501654_10205466687894539_3341742048795193727_n

The forecast called for snow yesterday.  It’s only November, but this is the Midwest, so anything goes as far as weather.  I knew I was really hooked on the running thing when last winter I refused to be deterred by the plunging temperatures.  Instead, I invested in cold weather gear and ran until the sidewalks were covered with snow and ice.  I was at work when we got our first snowfall and I longingly stared out the window wishing that I could be out running in it.  Unfortunately by the time I got home from work, the snow had stopped.  For a short time, I continued to run outside but the sidewalks were hit and miss as far as which would be shoveled and the city streets weren’t much better.  Then one morning, while walking to my vehicle to go to work, I slipped on a patch of ice and sustained a concussion.  After that, I was too scared to run outside and spent the rest of the winter running on the treadmill.

So yesterday when I checked the radar and saw that snow was coming, I put on my running gear and headed outdoors.  As I was running, I kept praying, “Please let it snow, please let it snow” and halfway through my run it started to snow!  Yay!  Running while it’s snowing is now off my bucket list!  I’m not sure how much longer I’ll continue to run outdoors, however.  I still have a fear of slipping and falling.  But it’s okay.  I got to enjoy the experience of running during a snowfall and I’m so happy about that!

I was going to do a long run today, but I have to go out and shovel, which is a workout in itself.  I started the new Stephen King book, so I think that I will shovel, do some laundry and then read.  I think that sounds like a good plan, don’t you agree?

4 thoughts on “Running in the snow!

  1. I LOVE running in the snow! I don’t get to do it often (I’m in TN!), but it’s so much fun. 🙂

    That’s terrible about your concussion. That would have probably been enough to scare me inside to the ‘mill too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

