Uncategorized

Confession Monday

Happy Monday!  I have a confession to make: I’m not perfect, and I screw up sometimes.  I had a huge setback this past weekend.  Now that I’m not training for a race, I seem a bit lost and my discipline with healthy eating has escaped me recently.  This weekend was really bad.  On Friday I went out to eat for lunch with my husband and pigged out on non-vegan eggplant parmesan and I think I had about 5-6 pieces of bread to go with it.  Then on Friday night we went out again with a friend, and I ate fried appetizers, along with a black bean burger with cheese and thousand island dressing and French fries.  I even had a bit of that goopy nacho cheese sauce – can we really call that stuff cheese?  Anyway, not only did I fall off of the healthy eating wagon, but off of the vegan wagon as well.  I’m so ashamed of myself.

On Saturday, I woke up and vowed to just forget the day before and get back on the healthy, vegan track!  I started out with a lovely smoothie made with kale, banana and frozen fruit.  I then went grocery shopping for the week and bought lots of healthy fruits and veggies and I was excited about the healthy things I would be eating throughout the week.  However, when I got home, my youngest daughter begged to go eat Mexican for lunch and she had helped with some chores around the house, so I caved and ended up having Mexican food for my lunch.  By now my stomach was protesting and the shame and guilt were eating away at me, so on Saturday night I made a healthy soup made with cauliflower and roasted acorn squash.  Yesterday I went for a 6.2 mile run which went really well and so I felt like I was finally back on track.

Then I stepped on the scale this morning.  OMG.  I’ve gained 6 pounds in the last month since completing my half-marathon.  Six pounds!!

I’m sort of at a loss right now, and I’m feeling a bit frustrated with myself.  I know that beating myself up isn’t going to achieve anything, so I’m trying to come up with a game plan.

I hate having to track my food, but I think that I’m going to have to do that, at least for awhile.  Also, I picked out my first marathon to train for, but it’s not until June, and so my training won’t start until January or February, so in the meantime, I have to kick up my workouts somehow to burn more calories.  I tend to lose weight when I run every day, so perhaps that’s what I need to do over the next couple of months.

I’m human.  I’m not perfect and I’m going to screw up every now and then.  I’m going to fall.  I just need to get back up again, dust myself off, and start fresh, right?

6 thoughts on “Confession Monday

  1. Ha. My yesterday was horrible. Just non-vegan, highly caloric, horrible. And I’d been doing so well. I guess that makes us both human. But back on the track I am today. Already hit the pavement and made lentils and vegs in the crock pot last night. I think you’re better off *off* the treadmill and on the streets whenever time and the weather allow. We both deserve better, and back on the vegan/exercise wagon we go!

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your experience! Whether they admit it or not, all vegans have been there. I certainly have! It’s impossible to be perfect, and if we’re too hard on ourselves, that leads us to just give up, to binge, or to be miserable. If you ask me, there’s never any reason to feel shame or guilt about what we eat. Your body and/or your mind must have needed a couple cheat days, and that’s totally human and natural.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment! It means a lot to hear that I’m not the only one who slips up! And you’re right, I can’t eat perfectly all of the time and I have to focus on the majority of the time when I do eat well! 🙂

      Like

  3. The three weeks that my mother-in-law was home on hospice before we lost her in August, I was right where you are now. I totally fell off the vegan wagon. I didn’t eat any meat, but I stress-ate the shit out of everything else. I ate whatever people brought to the house, which was always ooey gooey cheesy casseroles and desserts. Weight goes on FAST when you live on that for three weeks! Don’t sweat it. Once you get back into your running routine and get your diet back in check it will come right back off. 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m sorry about your mother-in-law. I lost my mother-in-law to cancer several years ago, so I know how you feel. It’s really hard. 😦
      Thanks for your words of encouragement! Maybe one day we won’t have to worry about being tempted by all of that gooey cheesy stuff if more people give up eating it like us, right? Wouldn’t that be great? 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

