Uncategorized

Another half-marathon

I ran another half-marathon yesterday:

10250035_10205213787052176_4473637857060109938_n

10334239_10205213798292457_911179018955496648_n

This time it was a virtual run.  Have you heard of these?  You go online, pay your registration fee, run your race on your own within a certain time frame, post your time online, and then a medal will arrive in the mail!  The race that I signed up for was the vegrunchat.com race and proceeds from the registration fees went towards helping out a farm sanctuary.

Here’s what I love about doing a virtual run:  I can pick the day I want to run and the time I start.  That means instead of getting up at the butt crack of dawn so that I can get in my coffee and breakfast a couple of hours before race time, I can actually sleep in a bit.  I can run wherever I want.  And the best part: when I run, I’m not watching all of the other runners run farther and farther ahead of me and worrying that I’m running too slow.  Instead, I had a goal time in mind and that was the only thing I was racing against.

I decided to run yesterday at 10:00 a.m.  I ate a breakfast of granola with blueberries and sliced banana.  I wanted to run in Iowa City, which is about 14 miles away because the town that I live in is small and I knew that running here would be boring.  My husband and youngest daughter came with me and I started at a pub, where my family could have a late breakfast and wait for me while I ran.  There was a light rain the first few miles in, and it was a chilly 47 degrees, but I’ll take that any day over the 90 degrees that I had to run in during the first half-marathon back in late August.

The run felt good.  I had mapped out a course on MapMyRun and I thought I knew where I would be running, but I kept taking a few detours and ended up just running all over Iowa City which ended up working out great.  It’s a nice town to run in.  There were enough hills to make it challenging, but not so much to make it too difficult.  Somewhere around mile 7, I started thinking about how good a Bloody Mary would be.  Is that weird?  Anyway, I promised myself that when I finished, I was going to have a Bloody Mary.  At mile 11, I hit a bit of a wall.  My legs felt like they weighed 1000 pounds.  But I looked at my watch and knew that if I kept running, I was going to beat my goal time, so that kept me motivated enough to continue.

Here are the results:

10435591_10205215776381908_8073019155960211853_n (2)

My goal time was 2:45 and I beat it!  I also beat my first half-marathon time by over 10 minutes!  And it was go great to have my husband and daughter waiting for me when I was done.  Even the pub staff cheered for me!

And, as promised, I had a Bloody Mary:

10660325_10205216369196728_4904978657215488913_n

It was delicious!

When I got home, I took a hot shower and then spent the rest of the day in the kitchen, listening to the Dallas Cowboys game on the radio while I cooked.  My husband kept telling me to sit down, but I was afraid I would stiffen up if I did, so I kept moving.  After dinner, I did finally sit down and soaked my feet in our foot spa.

10687026_10205219219627987_7804376951355654805_n

Ahhhh….heaven.

This morning I’m feeling tired, but not too sore.  I’m looking forward to taking a break from training for a while.

Over the last three weekends, I ran a race.  I ran a 5k on September 27, a 10k on October 4, and a half-marathon yesterday.  Best of all, I set a PR with each of those races.  What a great way to end the racing season, huh?

9 thoughts on “Another half-marathon

  1. Wow! Congratulations on your virtual HM! I’ll be running my first HM this coming weekend (Myrtle Beach Mini Marathon) and I’m shooting for somewhere between 2:45 – 3:00. During training I usually hit a wall around 10 miles but I’ve been able to push through, I can only hope the excitement from ‘race day’ will push me through.

    You deserve a nice break after racing 3 weekends straight…enjoy!!!

    Like

  2. Congratulations!! And I’m a bit like you….I get something in my mind..usually food or bloody marys and it helps me through the long runs. On my 20 mile run, at about mile 15, I couldn’t get pizza out of my mind and it helped me i’m sure. Cold beer has motivated me more than I need to admit. 🙂 I’ve heard of virtual runs and I think I will start doing a few. They sound fun and I see many people doing it. It’s a great way to challenge yourself without all the constraints and stresses…so I will probably like it. Congratulations on your PR! You are right about the weather, I’d even go as far to say that I like 30 degrees better than 90. I’m a cold weather runner. Again, congrats!

    Like

  3. Congratulations on beating your goal time and setting a new PR! I’ve done a few virtual races before but only 5Ks. I love this one benefited a farm sanctuary! Thanks for posting about it! I won’t be able to do it this year, but hopefully it’ll be an annual thing and I can get in on it next year. 🙂 Please post a picture of your medal when it comes in!

    Like

Leave a Reply

