Uncategorized

New tattoo!

If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you may recall that I made a list on my 48th birthday of things I wanted to do in my next year of life.  A bucket list for the next year, I guess you could say.  Here it is:

My Birthday Wish List 

Two of the things on my list were to run a half-marathon and then get a tattoo to commemorate that achievement.  Well, I ran the half-marathon on Labor Day weekend and yesterday, I got the tattoo:

1653626_10205120641763602_7219014464907109689_n

It’s on my left calf and not only does it commemorate both the Bix (a 7-mile race that I ran in July) and the half-marathon, but it also celebrates the fact that I reached these milestones eating a plant-based diet!  For those of you who aren’t familiar with the running carrot, it is part of the logo for the website No Meat Athlete.  Yes, you can get enough protein eating a vegan diet.  Yes, you can be an athlete eating a plant-based diet.  I am complete proof.  Four years ago, there’s no way I would think it possible for me to run the Bix, let alone a half-marathon!  Eating a plant-based diet has truly transformed my life.  And so has running.

But you already know this.

What I really want to talk about today is my addiction.  My addiction to tattoos, that is.  I have four of them now.  Here they are because I know you’re curious, right?

706302_10200095375895096_1841678049_o

This was my first tattoo.  I love Doctor Who, the 10th Doctor is my favorite, and this was his catch phrase.  It means “Let’s go!” in French, which accurately describes my outlook on life these days.

About a year later, I got this one:

1425799_10202549895856561_251983128_n

I got this one during a difficult time in my life.  I finally let go of some things that were toxic in my life.  I mean,  I really let go.  I found peace.  And it’s also a great reminder for those times when life feels like it’s getting out of control and I start to feel anxious and stressed.  I just look at my arm and breathe.

Less than a year later, I decided I needed something on my foot/ankle, so I found this really cool tattoo and got this:

10363345_10204061224118823_6563454588974131856_n

Until this tattoo, when someone asked, “Do they hurt?” I could honestly answer, “Not really.”  This one, however, HURT LIKE A BITCH.  But isn’t it pretty?  I’ve always loved dragonflies.  I’m not really sure why I love dragonflies; however,  I just love this tattoo, and it was proof to myself that I can endure pain.  I think about this sometimes when I’m running and feel like I can’t go on and it gives me the strength to keep going.

I’m not really sure if four tattoos qualify as an addiction, but what if I want to keep getting more?  Hmmm……I think I might have a problem.

What is it about these things?  They’re expensive.  They can be painful, and afterwards, they peel and get really itchy.  But they’re so beautiful.  And expressive.  Body art, in its truest sense, I think.

I don’t take my tattoos lightly.  I’ve put thought into each and every one, and they all mean something to me.  When I’m 80 years old, I’m going to still look at them with awe and admiration.  Sure, they might look a bit faded and wrinkled by then, but they belong to me and I’ll have them forever.

A shout-out to Bob, the tattoo artist, because he ROCKS and I’m not letting anyone else do my tattoos.  Thanks, Bob.  🙂

10k race tomorrow morning.  It’s going to be cold, but I’m looking forward to hopefully setting a PR and then eating celebratory pancakes with the husband and a friend afterwards! My friend had open heart surgery last year, so running the 5k race tomorrow is going to epic for him!  So excited and proud of him!

11 thoughts on “New tattoo!

  1. I love your tattoos! I have 6, but 4 are *mistakes* that I’m still in the process of covering – long story for another time 😉 I definitely want a new one (or two) for running and for plant-power! Like I told you yesterday, I would definitely get the NMA tat if I didn’t hate carrots so much, haha!

    Like

  2. I like them! The painful one is really nice.
    I’ve always heard that those on the foot are painful.
    When I make to Rio I’ll get a tattoo, it’s a fact. I don’t know where yet, but I’ll get it.
    Have a nice race!

    Like

Leave a Reply

