Uncategorized

Random thoughts.

Today has just been one of those days at work.  I feel like a Zen hamster who is staring at all of of these other hamsters running franticly in their wheels.  I just want to tell them to stop and breathe, but they’re looking at me like, “Dude, what are you doing?  You need to be running with us!  Run!  Run!”

Actually running is what I’d like to be doing, but not on a wheel going nowhere.  This chaotic atmosphere has caused my zen to go a bit astray and so my mind is whirling with all of these thoughts, so I thought that perhaps if I write them out, then that will help to slow my brain down.

Today is September 11, but I’m sure you know that because everywhere you turn is a reminder about the tragedy that happened on this day.  REMEMBER is what we all keep being told.  Who the hell could forget?  And no disrespect to the victims who were taken in this horrific, evil act, but I don’t want to think about it or re-live it in my mind.  I had nightmares for months after it happened.  I didn’t feel safe for the longest time.  Why would I want to remember that?  No thanks.  I will take a moment to say a prayer for those who were directly affected by it, but I think we need to just move on.

To run a formal half-marathon race, or run a virtual half-marathon race, or just run 13.1 miles on my own and call it good?  That’s the debate that has been going on in my mind over the last week or so.  I’m a bit burned out on training, I think.  I still enjoy running, but I’m feeling the need for a break from the structured training.  I’ve signed up for a local Run for the Schools 5k race at the end of the month, and I’m planning on running a 10k local charity race next month, so there’s some money I’ve dished out already.  Do I really want to shell out another $40 for a half-marathon?  So I’ve been scanning the virtual races that are out there online.  Much cheaper, you still get some nice bling, and I can pick the date I want to run 13.1 miles.  It’s looking more appealing every day.

Another blog for another day, I guess.

Our water heater went out last night, so that has to be replaced today.  Property taxes are due, in addition to the tags for our automobiles.  I don’t talk much about money on this blog because talking about money stresses me out.  I’m working on that.

Speaking of money, we are trying to refinance our house and the appraiser is coming on Monday, so this weekend I’m going to be frantically cleaning the house.  I already anticipate that I’m going to be a stressed out bitch, so I’m trying to figure out ways to combat it before it even starts.

Meditation has helped some.  I’ll do more of that.

Running helps even more.  I’ll do some more of that.

A short walk outside in the fresh air will do at the present moment.

Peace, friends!

 

2 thoughts on “Random thoughts.

  1. We are going to do a virtual HM soon! Check out vegrunchat.com and tell me what you think about that one? It’s kind of expensive but goes to a good cause. There’s also a virtual Zombie Run on FB (I’ll have to find the link) where you get a medal and you can also get a t-shirt. We’ll talk soon! It’s been total chaos around here too, so I totally understand how you feel! ((((HUGS))))

    Like

  2. I hate, hate training! When/if I complete my marathon in Oct…I want to go back to running for fun. I miss that. My fear is that the training and marathon will burn me out on running. That would be a tragedy for me. I just want a nice trail run with no time limits or goals. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

