Uncategorized

Half-marathon is tomorrow!!!

The big day is almost here.   The day that I’ve been training for.  Tomorrow I will be running my first half-marathon.  I have no idea how it will go.  I just know that I’m as ready as I can be, and while I may very well end up coming in last place, I know that I will finish.

I’ve been training for this since March.  Originally I wanted to run my first half-marathon in May, but my youngest daughter was graduating from high school and I just wasn’t able to commit to training and so I put off the half-marathon and ended up training all summer.  I’ve had a virtual running partner who has been a huge help throughout the training and has given me some great advice along the way.

When I say that I’m as ready as I can be for tomorrow, I mean that I truly committed to training.  I did speed workouts (which I love, by the way!), I ran hills, I did my long runs on Sundays.  I skipped the pub food and drinking on Saturday nights so that I would be at my best on my long runs the next day.  I paid more attention to what I ate.  I foam-rolled my muscles.  I drank cherry juice after my runs after reading that it helps with muscle recovery.  I developed blisters and had to figure out a way to combat them.  In a nutshell, I became obsessed with all things running.  I ate, drank, and dreamt RUNNING.

So now the big moment is almost here.  All week my husband has been asking if I’m nervous and I didn’t think I was, but now I feel my hands shake as I type this because I think I am getting a bit nervous.  Most of all, though, I’M FREAKING EXCITED!  Tomorrow just can’t get here soon enough!

To all of you out there reading this, send good thoughts and positive running vibes my way.  I’ll need them.

To my husband and two daughters:  THANK YOU.  Thank you for not complaining when dinner was late on the table because I was out running or spending so many Sundays doing my long runs.  Thank you for the pep talks when I was doubting myself.  Thank you for being my biggest cheerleaders.  I can’t wait to see you at the finish line!

To my virtual running partner, Laura:  thank you for your advice and guidance throughout this journey!  I couldn’t have done this without you!

 

2 thoughts on “Half-marathon is tomorrow!!!

  1. You’ve totally got this! I’m just sorry I wasn’t able to finish the last couple weeks training “with” you. I’m finally starting to feel a little better so I am going to try to run at least part of the half “with” you tomorrow! And I can’t wait to see pictures of you crossing that finish line!!!!

    Like

  2. I got butterflies just reading this – so excited for you to rock this out (sending good vibes as I type). All of that dedication and discipline (and cherry juice) will pay off. Way to go – can’t wait to hear about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

